Cookies 'n Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This would have gotten 5 stars but the frosting is a little weird. I was hesitant to use that much shortening for fear it would taste 'waxy,' but decided to try it this time and see what happens. My fear was spot on - the frosting tasted just fine but had a waxy texture. Is there another way to make the frosting without using so much shortening, or something else you could use instead....? I also used closer to a cup and a half of cookie crumbs in the cake mix, instead of just a cup. It was just right! Also used some crumbled cookies in the frosting rather than garnishing with the cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This is SOOO GOOD!! I used the recipe from this site, Simple White Cake instead of a box cake mix. Made cupcakes (12 regular size) instead of a whole cake. These cupcakes were very YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
I will never make this cake again! I decided to make it for my son's birthday and it is falling apart as a write this! It was difficult to get out of the pans, yes I greased and floured them, and I thought the icing might hold it together. But boy was I wrong!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet cheeks
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Made this for my Son's birthday, it was Awesome! I only made a few revisions a la some of the suggestions here...I used 1 c water and 1/4 cup milk in the cake mix, used 2 whole eggs instead of egg whites, and used about 1/4 cup milk in the icing and beat the heck out of it to make it lighter and fluffier..this is definitely a keeper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Very, very artificial tasting. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
so incredibly rich and delicious.... if you love cookies and cream and oreos you will love this recipe... I made this the night ahead and put in in the refrigerator and then when I went to cut it it kind of crumbled and fell apart... next time I will be sure to eat it fresh.. but everyone still loved it... when I stacked the two cakes I frosted them and put a layer of crumbs between them.... no bad remarks on this one
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I made this for my cousin's birthday as something a little different from the regular "dirt" cake. Everyone thought this tasted great. I used two cups of cookie crumbs in the cake mix, which turned out well but was a little crumbly, I think I will only use 1 1/2 cups next time. I also made a 13 X 9 pan instead of two rounds, which I baked for 28 minutes. For the frosting, I was intending to make as written, but ran out of shortening and had to sub in 1/4 cup of butter for part of it. This is a cake I will be making again! It would be even better with a side of cookies & cream ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
I used a chocolate cake mix and mini chocolate chips ... it was delicious! Instead of frosting, because the cake was so chocolatey, I used Oreo crumbs and stabilized whipped cream. These were a big hit. Next time I try the white cake! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I like boxed cake and the frosting was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I substituted milk for water. I was very worried about the bad tasting frosting. Fortunately after applying the frosting to the cake it tasted exactly like an oreo cookie!! it was amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States