Cookies and Peppermint Ice Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Did the night before my son's 11th birthday party but made some changes. I used one box of reduced fat oreos for the crust so it was 1" thick. Yum. I couldn't find chocolate nillas or chocolate grahams which would have been good. I used cookies and cream and 1.5 jars hershey's special recipe fudge sauce. Sprinkled oreos on the top. Everyone loved it and it was very easy and inexpensive. Next time I would use a high end fudge sauce or make a chocolate ganache for the filling to dress it up a bit and also cookies which are less sweet. Other than that, a total winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
A delicious treat, you can use any flavors you'd like. My family devoured this for a BBQ party we had. It's easy to make (a bit messy...lol) I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellerose, New York, USA
Living In: Wantagh, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This pie tasted GREAT! My only complaint was that the Oreo crumbs pretty much stayed in the bottom of the pan. I also made it in two round cake pans, instead of the large pan. I did one with plain vanilla and one with peppermint pieces in between the fudge and ice cream and sprinkled on top. The layer of fudge really makes this - DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quita143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cortland, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was my first ice cream cake and this recipe made it so easy. I took the advice of a few reviewers and added butter to the cookies and I made the cookie layer thicker as my family loves that part. I also doudled the fudge layer and used chocolate chip mint ice cream. I made it into a 2 layer cake. One being ice cream and cookie and the other being chocolate cake and ice cream. I also used a whipped cream frosting recipe from this site as it was for a birthday and I wanted to decorate it. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I made the crust but added a stick of butter. I also made the fudge sauce, perfect and yummy. Its June and I could not find peppermint ice cream so I had to make my own. Made the one from this site and turned out great. Made for a cancer patient to keep his weight up. During chemo they lose taste, but somehow can taste peppermint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
GREATTTTTTTT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angeni
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I made 2 of these desserts, one following the directions and one with modifications as my mom used to make it. For the modified version, I used Hershey's fudge sauce and couldn't tell the difference in the desserts. Next time I will mix 1/4 melted butter with the crumbs for the bottom crust to hold them together, as my mom's recipe called for. When serving the dessert most of the cookie crumbs stayed in the bottom of the pan. The fudge layer was an awesome improvement over my mom's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia DesC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This is a good recipe and it's easy to make. I would double the fudge though so that the layer is a little thicker and not use quite as much powdered sugar, it was really sweet. I also froze the oreo crust for about 10 min before I put the fudge on top. It was well liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yumyumgimmesome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

S’more Ice Cream Pie

See how to turn a campfire classic into an amazing ice cream treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States