Cookie That Thinks It's a Brownie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
these cookies came out very thin and spread out way too much in the oven. I think this recipe would've tasted better if the batter was much thicker like most cookie recipes. Even letting the batter sit for about 5 minutes like the recipie says is not long enough. It sounds like a great recipe but it didnt work well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
taste good, but came out flat. Are you sure that it's baking POWDER and not baking SODA?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was awesome- in the words of my husband. He rarely wants me to bake for him but he was hungry and found this recipe and loved it. YOU MUST FOLLOW DIRECTIONS CAREFULLY!!!! Make sure chocolate is cooled before adding, other wise it will be runny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vernal, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
There are great for chocolate lovers! The batter alone is incredibly rich. I followed the recipe exactly and used unsalted butter. Let it rest for 10 minutes and it hardens up quite a bit... make sure to flatten them before you put them in the oven. The second time I made them I ran out of sugar so I used closer to 2/3 cup, and I substituted chocolate chunks for the walnuts. They came out puffier and not as crackly, but they did flatten out a bit after they cooled. I baked them for 14 minutes this time but I think 12 is enough. My coworkers thought these were fantastic! Great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
My husband loved these. Requested I make them again. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
Great cookies! You HAVE to follow the recipe and let this batter sit for the chocolate seize up a little before you bake them. I had to let mine sit longer than stated, probably 15 minutes. They are sensitive in the oven (mine were perfect in 12 minutes) and there is not a lot of wiggle room between not done and too done. My family really loved these, so I will probably make them again, but they do take some mollycoddling, so only make them if you can commit to the recipe and to watching them closely. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I thought these were just OK. I replaced the nuts with white chocolate chips. Recipe's OK, but I probably won't make them again. Thanks for sharing the recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JulieB123
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Sinfully delicious. I can't even believe how good these are. They need to be made *EXACTLY* as the recipe states, including using regular sized eggs and listed mixxing speeds. I had only large and extra large, so I used 3 large, but with one of them I halved the white to prevent runniness. I skipped the walnuts, but no harm. And they absolutely must sit for about 10 minutes before baking. Using baking squares and doing everything else the same (unsalted butter, we are baking), even the mixer speeds, they're absolutely amazing, hands-down the best chocolate cookie I've ever had. They're so rich, I put a little caramel ice cream topping on my last bite and it was *perfect.* I am going to keep this recipe forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieB123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I am surprised by any good reviews. This batter was way too runny. It definitely needed more flour. My cookies did not come out like the ones in the picture but absolutely flat and very difficult to removed from a greased baking sheet so they crumbled. Oh the flavor was good but they were not presentable. I think I will keep looking for that perfect chocolate cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
I have been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. I didn't have 12 squares of baker choc, only had 8, so I cut the rcipe in half best I could, except I didn't have walnuts, so I put a sprinkling more of flour in the dough. I had to try this recipe, even with all the mixed reviews my dough turned out perfect, i think alot of the trick is to really fold in the flour mixture, and let it set. Also be sure to use baker semi sweet squares, and butter, not margerine. Since I halved the recipe, I used 1 large egg. The origianal recipe calls for 3 normal size eggs. I left the dough set at room temp 5 mins then stuck it in freezer for 5 more. I spooned the dough onto the greases/floured cookie sheet in 1" balls trying not to touch the dough too much, baked for 7 minutes....the cookies come out looking like the dough balls I put in..So, those of you who got flat cookies must have done something wrong. My nexy batch I pressed the dough balls down a little...and they turned out perfect. these are perfect little fudgey brownie bites for your chocolate cravings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Kissed Brownie Bites

See how to make delectable brownie bites with just a hint of lemon.

Luck O' the Irish Brownie

These chocolatey, minty brownies will be a hit at St. Patrick’s Day.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States