Cookie Press Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Absolutely great recipe. These were perfect for my cookie press as non-refrigerated/chilled dough works best in mine. The only change I made was I upped the amount of vanilla to almost a full teaspoon. Very good cookie and they really do almost melt in your mouth. I made wreaths and trees with these so I added the green coloring right into the dough and popped them out in a jiffy. So easy and so good...this one is definitely a keeper for my collection. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Just the taste I was looking for and so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paullina, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sutherland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Everyone loves these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I found the taste of this recipe very good: very buttery and not overly sweet. I did add a pinch of salt as I find in general that it helps bring out the flavor in pastry. The texture is very smooth with a delicate crispiness. As other reviewers have noted it does give a rather fragile cookie. Worth it though n my opinion. For me this recipe is not very well suited for the cookie press: much too sticky even after putting the dough in the fridge for about 15 minutes. In the second batch I added 50 g more flour but the dough was still too sticky for the press. Perfect for rolling balls by hand and flatting them a bit on the cookie sheet. Will definitely make this recipe again because of the texture and taste, just not with the press. Therefor on 4 out of 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
SO good! These are so easy to make- once you know how to operate a cookie press- in fact, I considered throwing mine out the window until these came out of the oven and I tried one-- they just gave my cookie press a new hope! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
First rate cookies! Just the right texture--my English husband even likes them! I added about a tsp ground rosemary to every batch, which provided some depth to the flavor, plus the smell throughout the house was outstanding! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This recipe was really disappointing. I was really excited to use my cookie press for the first time. These cookies formed really nicely but when I took them out and sampled one, they tasted awful. They were bitter and tasted like flour. I had even added a bit more sugar than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Excellent. However this recipe does not take 25 min of prep work! I had made the dough, filled the press, and had cookies baking within 10 minutes. Absolutely excellent and very tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan-Ashley Maine-Ludlow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Absolutely perfect just the way it is written. I only cooked them for 8 minutes, anymore would have been too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kikokiwi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: St. Marys, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
The cookies came out of the press really nicely, but they are a bit bland. Even tried adding some extra vanilla and cinnamon, but they still don't taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States