Cookie Press Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I LOVED THIS RECIPE!!! I absolutely hated my stupid cookie press from pampered chef and I found this recipe and it worked! They tasted great too. They were really light and just crumbled in my mouth. Kids loved it too. Definately try this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I love to use this recipe whenever I need a quick, easy cookie! I found that adding mini-chocolate chips and pecans makes a wonderful addition and my husband can't get enough! He even came home and told me, "Oh yeah, I told the guys at work how good those cookies were. They asked if you could make some!" So I just made a batch of 50 last night! Not sure if anyone mentioned this tip, but it's easy to tell they're done when they're hard to the touch in the oven. You're not looking for a golden brown at ALL - just give it a light touch and if they're stiff, you're done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIFFERS0118

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winder, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
This is the easiest, best shortbread recipe I have come across. Worked easily in the cookie shooter. One hint - spray the decorator tips with PAM-type spray to keep them from sticking to shooter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
These are delicious and melt in your mouth. A very pretty addition to a cookie tray. I didn't have any trouble with them being too delicate. I added 1/4 powdered sugar to make them a bit sweeter. I added another 1/4 flour or so to get the consistency right for my cookie shooter. To test the dough's consistency, give it a pinch. If it doesn't stick to your fingers you're good to go. I colored one batch green and used a tree stencil for my press. I decorated with non-pariels (sprinkles that look like tiny, colored balls) and put a star on top for darling Christmas trees. The other batch I left white and sprinkled with colored sugars. Lovely. UPDATE: My husband proclaimed these the BEST shortbread he's ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
I found this a great tasting shortbread and nice to work with in a press. The only recommendation I would suggest, is to keep the dough on the cool side so it breaks off the press easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
BEST! and EASY!! I also added cocoa to half the dough then experimented with putting half white half chocolate down the cookie press. Then I rolled the white around the chocolate and they made cool patterns in the cookies. I added 3 TBLS. of the Cocoa and the dough was drier so I'd add a little less next time. This recipie is definately a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I just bought a cookie press specifically for shortbread cookies this holiday season. I was a little disappointed with this recipe when the dough was so thick it wouldn't go through my brand new cookie press! I make shortbread every year, but never with a cookie press. I made the kind you bake whole in a deep pan, then cut into bars. Anyways, my solution with this one was to add another 1/2 cup of butter. The cookies needed closer to 13 mins to cook, and in the end I got 4 dozen out of a 2 dozen scaled recipe. Overall taste was pretty good, but I think this one is more a bar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MinxyBaby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
These cookies were the perfect texture for my cookie press and were a snap to make. The only bad part was that they didn't have much flavor. They were kind of bland and powdery instead of buttery. I made 2 seperate batches and they were consistant in their texture and flavor. My kids really liked them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
"Quick"?? No. It took 45 minutes to get the dough together, and then the time to press and cook the cookies. I nearly burned out my mixer trying to get this to blend through. The resulting cookies looked like they would be good, but they were very dry and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I used to be a Pampered Chef consultant. This recipe does work well with the cookie press but as soon as you are done whipping them up, you need to get them pressed asap. The discs are in order from easier to most difficult to work with. I used a #7 (Christmas tree) which was moderate in difficulty to use. I find that if you give the press a 1/4-1/2 squeeze, then a full squeeze (unti it clicks), the cookie comes out beautifully. Just make sure to press out all of the dough at one time, use parchment paper if needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States