Cookie Press Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
Not bad at all! I use only organic ingredients (except for sprinkles on top, which look so cute!) - I find that organic stuff just tastes better. I also didn't separate the eggs, maybe I should try, but they tasted wonderful blended in as is. I also used half whole wheat flour for a little more body and substance, so they don't taste like "just cookies". One other change is the butter - I used salted, I always find with unsalted butter the result is kind of bland. The batter didn't even need to be refrigerated for the first batch, but I stored it in the fridge while a batch is baking! Very easy, very quick, I might try a bit more sugar next time (or maybe some brown sugar would give it a little more zing). I know it sounds like quite a few substitutions were made, but I never make anything strictly by the recipe. This is a great base to add your own changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
Great recipe for cookie press and easy to assemble. I used a recently acquired old Mirro 358 cookie press that came without instructions/recipes. I had to make minor adjustments with the bake time & temperature but made no change in the ingredients. Great cookie for afternoon tea. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
Absolutely delicious. I Have been looking for a good recipe to use with my cookie recipe. They are all too floury. This was the BEST! Light and buttery, not too sweet, and NOT floury at all. I substituted the water with buttermilk, and added 1/4 cup of sugar. Be sure to refrigerate to stiffen dough if you want your dough to hold the shape from the press. Thank you so much! This is the best cookie recipe for my press so far! I will be making these alot with 6 kids in my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2004
These were amazing, thank you so much for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
I loved the flavor of this cookie. Again, I used Madagascar Vanilla and not supermarket vanilla, i think it makes a difference. The only thing I had a problem with was the cookie press. I would rather have gone through chinese water torture. That is not the recipes fault though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Somers Point, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2003
I have a really hard time finding a recipe that will work with my Pampered Chef cookie press but this is the best one I've tried so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Southaven, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
These were very tasy, but I had a hard time using a cookie press with them...but then again, I don't have much experience w/ it. I added a 1/2 tsp of mint extract to give them a hint of mint for the holidays:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
These cookies worked really good in the cookie press. I didn't even have to chill the dough. They taste great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Although these cookies were fun to make and fairly easy...they didn't taste that great! They were perfect for my mom who likes to dunk them in coffee but to just eat as a snack...they weren't all that great!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Although it was easy, I think only putting egg yolks in really made it drier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butter Cookies II

See how to make a delicious butter cookie that’s truly versatile.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Spritz Cookies II

See how to use a cookie press to make incredibly beautiful Christmas cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States