Cookie Mix in a Jar III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
I don't like Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, but these sure changed my mind!! Everyone we sent them to asked us for the recipe. They're terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
too dry...too oaty...and not that nice...i omitted the raisins and used white oats which i believe is the same...it didn't taste that great... i still prefer the ready mix by betty croker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen C
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
Really nice to make ahead of time for those times when you crave. I substituted some dried cranberries instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
Yummy! I am an avid baker and found these to be one of the best cookies I have ever baked. They flatten out quite a bit in the oven, and have a very rich flavor. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
The best oatmeal cookies I have EVER had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYLYNN6841

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
mmmmmm, what a delicious recipe! i made up 2 jars as christmas presents then baked a batch so the recipients would have a dozen cookies each for sampling. the ingredients fit fine inside the mason jars (using old fashioned oats, not quick oats) & the layered effect was very pretty. these cookies taste perfect, i wouldn't change a thing. one note: my yield was 2 1/2 cookies. many thanks lisa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
This is a very nice oatmeal cookie recipe. It makes chrispy, flat oarmeal cookies with a nice flavor. I would put less nutmeg in it next time or omit all together. I only give it 4 stars because I prefer a more robust oatmeal cookie. My favourite oatmeal raisin cookie recipe is still the one from the classic Better Homes Cookbook. It is similar to this recipe but has no nutmeg and calls for baking powder and more flour. Cloves are optional. I am sure you could adapt that recipe for a jar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedChowDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Sevenoaks, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I didn't actually bake the cookies, but I did package them and give them away as gifts and got rave reviews. I ended up seperating the two cups of oatmeal. I added the first cup and then the sugars and then the second cup at the top. It was easier to squish everything into the jar that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glittergirl94

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I am making these as Christmas gifts and decided to try a batch to taste test...awesome flavor! I did have great difficulty fitting everything into a wide-mouthed quart jar. I realized after that I used quick-cooking oats and I used chocolate covered raisins rather than plain. Are the rolled oats smaller than the quick-cooking? The smell is wonderful while they bake...If anyone can comment on the use of the oats I'd love to read it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
I made a jar of these yesterday and baked them up today. Flat and greasy. I won't be giving these out for the holiday. My search continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States