Cookie Mix in a Jar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
These cookies are very good! Taste like Toll House. They do turn into crisp cookies. I prefer chewy so I microwave them before I eat them. For this recipe, I would recommend just scooping the flour up with the measuring cup rather than doing it the "right" way. That adds the little extra flour so they don't come out so flat. (I tried it both ways.) If you're new to doing cookie mix jars, make sure you put the flour in first then pack it down with the bulb end of a turkey baster. Next the brown sugar, then the white sugar, then the chips. Pack each layer! This creates distinct layers and all the ingredients fit easily. Also make a loose funnel by rolling & taping a piece of paper. This makes it much easier to dump the ingredients in cleanly. Hope these tips help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
I made these cookies for christmas gifts and they came out looking really bland. Thier were just 4 layers, and most of the flower flowed into the chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Makes a great gift. For variation, I used whole wheat flour and 12oz. of chocolate chips (approx. 2 cups). This is also great for kids to make also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Corinth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2004
This is such a great gift idea.Everyone I made this for said they were really yummy cookies and what a neat pick-me-up they were
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Estherville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This made a great gift! I found snowman jars at the local Walmart (held about 28 oz if you stuffed chips & M&Ms in the hat (lid)). I used a mixture of chocolate chips and red/green M&Ms for extra color -- was able to fit an M&M in each eye and nose of the snowman too! I couldn't fit all of the chocolate chips/M&Ms in the jar or lid, so I wrapped the extras in a little baggie and tied it with a ribbon. To make the gift extra nice, I placed the jar inside a basket lined with a holiday dish towel and matching potholders. Not only did it make a great impression, the cookies turned out wonderfully too :-) Thanks for this great recipe/gift idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2003
these are absolutely excellent, use a one quart ball jar and put the flour in first. cut the choc chips to one cup(otherwise hard to fit and frustrating) and add 3/4 cup or 1 1/2 sticks of butter instead of one cup. I find blue bonnet margarine is a great baking margarine. use it when it is cold!! fridge the dough while cookies are baking, it will turn out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I made 12 of these as gifts for the people I work with. The first one I layered each individual ingredient and couldn't fit the full 1 & 1/2 cups of chocolate chips in the jar. So on the rest of the jars I put the chocolate chips in 1/2 cup at a time. I put the flour 1st then 1/2 cup choc chips then brown sugar then another 1/2 cup chocolate then the white sugar and then filled to the top with the rest of the chocolate. All of the ingredients fit because the looser ingredients filter around the chocolate chips but the layers weren't really distinct . You really have to pack everything down as tight as possible. It took me about 3 hours just to fill all of the jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2003
I had the hardest time fitting all of the ingredients into a quart jar and was wondering how other people did it. The cookies were okay though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
I made 24 of these for family and friends for Chirstmas, so far 15 people have made theirs and they have all asked me for the recipe! These cookies are really good, and they would be great if you threw in some walnuts too! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I did this for Christmas. It is a little time consuming, but the results were really great. Our friends loved receiving them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States