Cookie Mix in a Jar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
These cookies are very good! Taste like Toll House. They do turn into crisp cookies. I prefer chewy so I microwave them before I eat them. For this recipe, I would recommend just scooping the flour up with the measuring cup rather than doing it the "right" way. That adds the little extra flour so they don't come out so flat. (I tried it both ways.) If you're new to doing cookie mix jars, make sure you put the flour in first then pack it down with the bulb end of a turkey baster. Next the brown sugar, then the white sugar, then the chips. Pack each layer! This creates distinct layers and all the ingredients fit easily. Also make a loose funnel by rolling & taping a piece of paper. This makes it much easier to dump the ingredients in cleanly. Hope these tips help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
I made 12 of these as gifts for the people I work with. The first one I layered each individual ingredient and couldn't fit the full 1 & 1/2 cups of chocolate chips in the jar. So on the rest of the jars I put the chocolate chips in 1/2 cup at a time. I put the flour 1st then 1/2 cup choc chips then brown sugar then another 1/2 cup chocolate then the white sugar and then filled to the top with the rest of the chocolate. All of the ingredients fit because the looser ingredients filter around the chocolate chips but the layers weren't really distinct . You really have to pack everything down as tight as possible. It took me about 3 hours just to fill all of the jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Good Recipe. I am doing the jars right now, and just a HUGE TIP!!! PUT FLOUR FIRST!!! I made 4 jars with ingredients not fitting, and the jars looked all "floury" otherwise. Putting the flour first and making sure to pack down after each ingredient is a HUGE help! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Fernando, San Fernando, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2004
This made a great gift! I found snowman jars at the local Walmart (held about 28 oz if you stuffed chips & M&Ms in the hat (lid)). I used a mixture of chocolate chips and red/green M&Ms for extra color -- was able to fit an M&M in each eye and nose of the snowman too! I couldn't fit all of the chocolate chips/M&Ms in the jar or lid, so I wrapped the extras in a little baggie and tied it with a ribbon. To make the gift extra nice, I placed the jar inside a basket lined with a holiday dish towel and matching potholders. Not only did it make a great impression, the cookies turned out wonderfully too :-) Thanks for this great recipe/gift idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
Well I tried putting in a quart jar, and what I want to know is how do you fit 5 cups of ingredients in a 4 Cup container? This does not work. If you can tell me how to fit it, maybe I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
Tip: Definitely don't use the flour as your last layer or you might make a mess trying to get it all to fit in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
I made 24 of these for family and friends for Chirstmas, so far 15 people have made theirs and they have all asked me for the recipe! These cookies are really good, and they would be great if you threw in some walnuts too! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
These cookies did turn out pretty squishy. I found that letting the cookies cool and set on the cookie sheet for 5-10 minutes did help them keep their shape. I included this note on my recipe cards, along with the suggestion to add up to a 1/4 cup more flour if necessary. This is a really difficult recipe to fit into the jars, so beware! It took me several attempts to create a working system, and even then I had to omit about 1/8 - 1/4 cup of the chocolate chips. Everyone's had rave reviews about the finished product, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
I live at High Altitude. I had to add 1/2 C flour to the jar and take out 1/4 C Brown Sugar and 1/4 C Chocolate Chips to get it to fit in the jar. The cookies turned out perfect. All the craft fair samples I baked went fast!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
Very tasty and crisp cookie. Do not over bake these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States