Cookie Mix in a Jar I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
When I first saw this recipe, I realized it had to much butter, so I reduced the butter to 3/4 cup, but that was still(!) to much. They came out flat, too crisp, and raw in the middle. We tryed this recipe after the Cowboy Cookies In a Jar, and these couldn't even compare. We didn't have to change anything about the Cowboy Cookies. This recipe is overall a bad recipe, and didn't even bother with the jar, because we knew we wouldn't be giving this to anyone, so I don't know how they fit in the jar. Would NOT recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
I loved it super easy and fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BiancaConnell
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I was able to fit almost everything in the jars - I just had to leave some chocolate chips out - but I figured I could either attach a bag of chips or just have the receiver make up the difference with their own chocolate chips. I didn't make any of the cookies to see how good they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I had a hard time getting all the ingredients to fit. The flour gave me the most trouble because I had to pack it pretty tight in order to put the lid on it. Also one of the recipients of this cookie jar baked it and said it didn't rise. She ended up throwing the whole batch away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dededo, Dededo, Guam
Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I made these as gifts for Christmas for all of my co-workers (We have an annual Tree trimming party at). Those coworkers that have made the cookies have loved them, others have asked for an extra jar so the can display it as decoration. This was a great way to economize on gifts for a large group of people; I bought most of my ingredients at a locale wharehouse-wholesaler (like Sams Club/Costco) which kept the costs down. I spent about $3 per gift - and you can't beat that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Went flat. Added more flour and chips, still flat. No taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Good Recipe. I am doing the jars right now, and just a HUGE TIP!!! PUT FLOUR FIRST!!! I made 4 jars with ingredients not fitting, and the jars looked all "floury" otherwise. Putting the flour first and making sure to pack down after each ingredient is a HUGE help! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Fernando, San Fernando, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I did a test run of these before giving them away for presents. They were amazingly yummy. I added some colored sprinkles to the mix for some extra color. They came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Overall I was very satisfied with these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISFROGTEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
These cookies are very good! Taste like Toll House. They do turn into crisp cookies. I prefer chewy so I microwave them before I eat them. For this recipe, I would recommend just scooping the flour up with the measuring cup rather than doing it the "right" way. That adds the little extra flour so they don't come out so flat. (I tried it both ways.) If you're new to doing cookie mix jars, make sure you put the flour in first then pack it down with the bulb end of a turkey baster. Next the brown sugar, then the white sugar, then the chips. Pack each layer! This creates distinct layers and all the ingredients fit easily. Also make a loose funnel by rolling & taping a piece of paper. This makes it much easier to dump the ingredients in cleanly. Hope these tips help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States