Cookie Dough for Ice Cream (Eggless) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I followed the advice of another reviewer and made this using 2.5 tablespoons brown sugar, 3 tablespoons sugar, .5 tsp vanilla, pinch of salt, .5 cup of flour, 2 tablespoons butter, and 1.5 tablespoons milk, and .25 cup of chocolate chips. Even after freezing the result was not cookie dough. The result did not solidify even after freezing. It stayed watery and mushy and I only added 1.5 tablespoons of milk. I had higher expectations for this recipe based on what other reviewers said. This looks like cookie dough but its texture fails to resemble both store bought cookie dough and the cookie dough chunks in ice cream recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
this is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
This recipe is 5 stars if you stir in mini chocolate chips. Then you have a 10 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamler, Ohio, USA
Living In: Milford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Yum! I used this recipe to make cookie dough for my homemade ice cream (I used the Creamy Vanilla Ice Cream recipe from this site) and it was fantastic! However, if you want to make that ice cream recipe with this cookie dough in it, I suggest making a double batch of dough, because one batch was not enough for my cookie-dough crazy family! This was really, really yummy, and I will be making it again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I made most of the revisions suggested - used a full teaspoon of vanilla, used soy milk instead of water, added a pinch of salt - but I still wasn't crazy over this. I found the margarine overwhelmed the taste and eating it raw in the ice cream left one feeling a bit sick to the stomach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I'm a pregnant woman who was craving cookie dough - I was so excited to find a recipe that didn't use eggs. I followed other reviewers' suggestions for making it to be eaten as is: all brown sugar, milk instead of water, pinch of salt, chocolate chips. Also added a dash of cinnamon for a little extra flavor. This was super simple and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I only made one serving and used milk instead of water. I put it in homemade chocolate ice cream- so good! I wish I'd had chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was heaven with butterscotch chips substituted for the chocolate. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This recipe is AWESOME!!!!! It tastes soooo good and is soooo easy to make. I made 4x the recipe as this recipe is very small. I made it 2x - once with smart balance margarine and once with smart balance LIGHT margarine - They both came out fantastic - so I will be using the LIGHT margarine from now on (the higher water content does make a differece - as this is not being baked. Also - It turned out less greasy that the one with regular margarine!) I took the advise of the other reviewers with a bunch of things - I used only light brown sugar instead of white and brown sugar (so for the original recipe - 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I added some salt, and used about 1 tsp. vanilla and 2 tsp. soy milk (adding liquid to get the correct consistency). I didn't have mini chocolate chips so i placed my chocolate chips into my food processor and chopped them up a bit... I rolled the dough into a bunch of thin snakes/logs, froze it on parchment paper on a cookie sheet and cut them into small pieces. I mixed it into homemade Ice-cream - DELICIOUS!!!!!! These cookies tasted like chocolate chip cookie dough and not sugar cookie dough with these changes. *UPDATE* I made this as the crust of "Fluffy Two Step Cheesecake I" and added little cookie dough balls to the batter and on top of the cheesecake and drizzled chocolate on top and froze it - It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 81-90 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States