Cookie Dough for Ice Cream (Eggless) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I made most of the revisions suggested - used a full teaspoon of vanilla, used soy milk instead of water, added a pinch of salt - but I still wasn't crazy over this. I found the margarine overwhelmed the taste and eating it raw in the ice cream left one feeling a bit sick to the stomach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I'm a pregnant woman who was craving cookie dough - I was so excited to find a recipe that didn't use eggs. I followed other reviewers' suggestions for making it to be eaten as is: all brown sugar, milk instead of water, pinch of salt, chocolate chips. Also added a dash of cinnamon for a little extra flavor. This was super simple and very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
I only made one serving and used milk instead of water. I put it in homemade chocolate ice cream- so good! I wish I'd had chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was heaven with butterscotch chips substituted for the chocolate. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This recipe is AWESOME!!!!! It tastes soooo good and is soooo easy to make. I made 4x the recipe as this recipe is very small. I made it 2x - once with smart balance margarine and once with smart balance LIGHT margarine - They both came out fantastic - so I will be using the LIGHT margarine from now on (the higher water content does make a differece - as this is not being baked. Also - It turned out less greasy that the one with regular margarine!) I took the advise of the other reviewers with a bunch of things - I used only light brown sugar instead of white and brown sugar (so for the original recipe - 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I added some salt, and used about 1 tsp. vanilla and 2 tsp. soy milk (adding liquid to get the correct consistency). I didn't have mini chocolate chips so i placed my chocolate chips into my food processor and chopped them up a bit... I rolled the dough into a bunch of thin snakes/logs, froze it on parchment paper on a cookie sheet and cut them into small pieces. I mixed it into homemade Ice-cream - DELICIOUS!!!!!! These cookies tasted like chocolate chip cookie dough and not sugar cookie dough with these changes. *UPDATE* I made this as the crust of "Fluffy Two Step Cheesecake I" and added little cookie dough balls to the batter and on top of the cheesecake and drizzled chocolate on top and froze it - It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I got to try this recipe both ways... exactly how it was written and w/ the suggestions. Trust me... DO THE SUGGESTIONS!!! I followed the first batch exactly (just adding mini choc chips) and it was very watery and stickly like others said. The taste was ok but nothing special. I probably would of been fine w/ it but it didn't make that much specially after everyone picked at it to give it a try. So I decided to make another batch and this time I tried out the suggestions. OMG Everyone LOVED the second batch!!!! My kids didn't even want to use the first batch anymore so I threw it out. The second batch not only tasted better but it also came out more like cookie dough and it wasn't sticky at all. I doubled the recipe so we could pick at it and still have plently to add to my vanilla icecream. This is how I made it: 5 TBS BROWN SUGAR, 6 TBS SUGAR, 4 TBS BUTTER SOFTENED, 1 TEAS VANILLA, 3 TBS WHOLE MILK, 1 CUP FLOUR, 1/2 TEAS SALT, 1/2 CUP MINI CHOC CHIPS. This was enough to make 24 small melon ball size of chunks that I've put in the freezer.. When ready to add to my icecream I just cut each ball into forths and it was the perfect cookie dough chunk. Definatly try this out.. I can see how this would be addicting.. I can go into the freezer at any time and take out a small ball and eat it... Ummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
314 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GingerB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This recipe was pretty good! And I did wonder about why there wasn't any chocolate chips in the recipe, shame shame! :D Anyway this tasted a little floury when i made it, and i tried to add more vanilla or something but it still tasted floury.. Hmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I have made this twice at sleepovers with my friends as a snck for my friends. It is splendiferous. Tastes just like cookies but without the danger of raw egg :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very good recipe. The only change I made was to add some mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States