Cookie Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
These are the best!!! And only 3 ingredients - how great is that?! I found it easier to let the dough chill for a couple hours before dipping it into the melted almond bark. I then dropped them into tiny foil muffin cups and sprinkled them with a variety of things - chocolate sprinkles, colored sprinkles, red and green sugar, and nonpareils. These looked great on my Christmas cookie plate and everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
I have been making these since forever, and thought that they were only a Central Iowa thing. They are kind of time consuming, but delicious none-the less. I've had people ask me if it was brownies inside! Definately try this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Indianola, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
Wonderful!!!! I have made them 3 times already and everyone loves them. I even had a 16 year old boy ask me for the recipe. I rolled the balls and then put them in my freezer for 15 - 20 minutes. When you dip them in the white chocolate they don't fall apart and the chocolate sets up very fast. Try them you'll love them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
Great little recipe,I used Bourbon Biscuits and milk chocolate...I think I'll try with white chocolate soon too. Also we just rolled some of the initial mix in hundreds and thousands..that worked very well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
I'm calling mine 'Inside-Out Oreos' for the chocolate cookie center and creamy white coating. They're so easy and so good! I refrigerated the balls before dipping them after reading other reviews which worked really well. When they were coated, I refrigerated them to harden, put them in a bag and popped them in the freezer. They're going on my Christmas cookie tray if I can just keep my hands off them! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
This recipe got thumbs up from everyone who tasted it. The hardest part is knowing when the cream cheese has been well incorporated into the cookie crumbs. But if you mix thoroughly enough, you get a stiff dough that does not crumble apart at all. I crushed the cookies by hand (in a ziploc freezer bag with a rolling pin) and used my KitchenAid mixer to combine the crumbs and cream cheese. I used "white" chips, the store was out of almond bark. I think that made coating the balls more difficult because the chips didn't melt to as thin a mixture as the almond bark would have so it was difficult to dip the balls neatly. I topped each coated ball with chocolate sprinkles and they looked really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
This is really an impressive recipe considering the ingredients! They are more of a truffle than a cookie but really good and rich--I made some as called for with oreos and white bark, and another batch with peanut butter sandwich cookies and peanut butter chips--just as good!! Be sure to chill before dipping and WHATEVER YOU DO, DO NOT PUT THEM ON A WIRE RACK TO AVOID A HEEL AS THEY WILL STICK TO IT AFTER COOLING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
Just loved these cookies-- and have passed on this much requested recipe to many-- very easy and taste delicious. I used a cookie scoop (similiar to ice cream scoop just smaller)- made the balls uniform and less messy. Also excellent made with mint oreos, choc oreos etc-- great dipped in milk choc bark as well though like the vanilla the best. The only thing i don't care for about this recipe is the name-- one friend suggested Dirt Cake Cookies, another suggested (for holiday time) reindeer droppings..hmmm...i'll keep thinking. give these a try, you won't be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
These are great! At my party, everyone loved them and couldn't believe what they were made of. They do take a while to make so be prepared. As others suggested, I think it would be help to chill the dough first before dipping into the chocolate. At room temp, the dough is a little sticky and messy. I used the amounts listed and got 4 dozen from mine-- guess I made them smaller but I thought they were a good size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
Terrific and really easy! My family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States