Cooked Pumpkin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This is exactly how I cook my pumpkins. The only thing I will chime in with is that as long as the pumpkin will fit in your bakind dish, and in your oven, there is no reason to cut it first. Save yourself some fingers, and after puncturing it a few times with a fork, bake it whole until it is tender enough to stab through with a fork. Then allow it to cool before you cut it in half. You will find cutting it to be much easier, and often the stem will pull right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
FYI - 1 15oz can of pumkin = 1 3/4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
This is the best method for fresh pumpkin that I have found--when it is done baking and after it has cooled a bit, you just grab the skin side of the pieces of pumpkin and pinch off the pulp into a bowl. You do need to make sure that you drain off as much water as possible after you puree the pumkin, though, or your recipies will be too watery. I put mine in a colander lined with cheesecloth and it worked well. I then measured 2 cups of puree and put it in bags and froze them to make recipies later. FYI: Cheese pumpkins are the ***BEST TASTING*** baking pumpkins, but the small sugar pumpkins work okay, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
If you drain the water left over be sure not to waste it! It makes any bouillon you have more rich and flavorful, and contains nutrients from the pumpkin. I wouldn't make soup stock without pumpkins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Decided to throw a pumpkin I had left over from Halloween into the oven whole for 1 hour at 300 degrees & it worked perfectly. No worries about too much water. Cut it, peeled the outer skin, peeled away seeds & pith and threw the rest into my food processor to puree. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
It's a great way to cook pumpkin. Another method is to cook it in the microwave oven. I cut a medium-sized pumpkin into quarters and cook them one at a time. After it cools enough for handling I spoon the pumpkin off of the skin into a bowl to puree. I then put it into freezer bags, 2 cups each, for future baking use. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
ROTFL oh I love the list of ingredients! You can do this in the oven as suggest, or you can steam it, if you are doing breads, pancakes or pie, it's usually best to steam, but if you are using it for soup or other foods, oven is usually the best. Since it's fall, it's pumpkin season, and to be honest, everyone, and I mean everyone should learn how to cook a pumpkin, pumpkin is just as versatile as a tomato, the possibilities are unlimited, you can even make pumpkin enchilada sauce! Cook a pumpkin in the oven with beef stew inside (Heaven, be sure to add a turnip to the soup, really brings out the flavors!) this is the perfect recipe for everyone to start with... Why are you still reading this? Go cook your pumpkin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nolthria

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This was my first time cooking pumpkin and found it very manageable to do. I just found that it was long to cut off the skin off of the small pieces. Otherwise, very good. I used the puree to make pumpking bread and it was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
Finally, even I can use a fresh jack-o-lantern to create pies, muffins, breads, etc. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I was REALLY disappointed. This got such rave reviews that I deviated from my regular routine (cut it in half, place cut side down in non-stick coated dish and bake-SIMPLE). This turned into a project that last ALL afternoon to end in a soggy, time consuming mess! Cutting it into "manageable" pieces was pointless, it took twice as long to cook as the recipe called for, it ended up soaking up all of the water, and since I spent $8 on the organic pumpkins, the chunks are in a ziplock bag in my freezer because I was so tired of messing with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States