Cooked Pumpkin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Descolada
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This process worked perfectly for me. I followed another reviewer's advice to freeze it in individual bags for use later in the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Descolada

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I just used a cookie sheet to put the pumpkin on. I let the pumpkin cool a good 2-3 hours. When I grabbed the pumpkin to turn it over the skin just came off in my hand! No scooping! Couldn't be easier and could have cut through the pumpkin with a spoon. Pureed in no time. No more anxiety over preparing pumpkin for recipes. Only cuts were to remove the top (stem) and cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This was so easy and the best way I have found to cook pumpkin. I didn't even have to time it. I could tell it was done by the flesh turning from a creamsicle orange to a typical pumpkin orange. Remember to let it cool sufficiently or you will burn yourself. Thank you Vi for the good tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Decided to throw a pumpkin I had left over from Halloween into the oven whole for 1 hour at 300 degrees & it worked perfectly. No worries about too much water. Cut it, peeled the outer skin, peeled away seeds & pith and threw the rest into my food processor to puree. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
I buy pumpkins the day after Halloween every year to bake with. This recipe is probably the easiest way to cook pumpkin. Not having sore hands from peeling a raw pumpkin truly makes the end result more enjoyable. I like to use big "jack-o-latern" pumpkins because their is more meat and I don't notice much difference in the puree compared to the smaller pie pumpkins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acookingmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I was REALLY disappointed. This got such rave reviews that I deviated from my regular routine (cut it in half, place cut side down in non-stick coated dish and bake-SIMPLE). This turned into a project that last ALL afternoon to end in a soggy, time consuming mess! Cutting it into "manageable" pieces was pointless, it took twice as long to cook as the recipe called for, it ended up soaking up all of the water, and since I spent $8 on the organic pumpkins, the chunks are in a ziplock bag in my freezer because I was so tired of messing with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Exarmymedic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagar, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
This is exactly how I cook my pumpkins. The only thing I will chime in with is that as long as the pumpkin will fit in your bakind dish, and in your oven, there is no reason to cut it first. Save yourself some fingers, and after puncturing it a few times with a fork, bake it whole until it is tender enough to stab through with a fork. Then allow it to cool before you cut it in half. You will find cutting it to be much easier, and often the stem will pull right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
351 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
If you drain the water left over be sure not to waste it! It makes any bouillon you have more rich and flavorful, and contains nutrients from the pumpkin. I wouldn't make soup stock without pumpkins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
thank you so much for this tip! i live in europe where it is almost impossible to find canned pumpkins. this was so disappointing since i love to make pumpkin cheesecake, and therefore always waiting until i visited my family in the states to bake them there. since we can buy fresh pumpkins here, especially at the organic market, i will be sure to try this recipe. thanks for the great idea and recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Ravensburg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Pumpkin Muffins II

These moist muffins are bursting with spice and pumpkin flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States