Cooked Pumpkin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
This was not particularly flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dar Es Salaam, Dar Es Salaam, Tanzania

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
After mashing, DRAIN the pumpkin. Easier to bake with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dublin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
best way to get fresh pumpkin that is not from a can. I hate using canned foods, they just taste wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I didn't cut up the pumpkin until after cooking. It was very easy to cut at that point. I pierced it with a fork several times and then roasted for an hour. The stem came out easily with a pull. I mashed the pumpkin and used it for pumpkin bread and pumpkin cheese cake. Next time I will puree it to get a smoother texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
One of the farms in our area had 3 sugar pumpkins laying on the ground, for free. I picked them up the week of Thanksgiving and roasted them per some of the other reviewers. Have 3 large bags of frozen pumpkin in the freezer and will be making a pumpkin bread and chocolate chip/pumpkin loaf for my family to enjoy. Simple. I even gave the pumpking seeds to my daughter for her family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
This is such an easy and great way to prepare fresh pumpkin to be used in all kinds of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I cook my pumpkin in the microwave. Buy small cooking pumpkins that will fit into your microwave. Wash the skin with soap and hot water. Cut two small holes all the way through into the hollow right next to the stem. Microwave full power 10 minets, turn the pumpkin and repeat the process until the skin is loose and leathery. (A pumpkin about the size of your smallest mixing bowl in a standard set, will take 30 min. and render 4 to 5 cups of pulp). Let the whole pumpkin stand for 10 min. before cutting in half. (the steam will burn you so use protection when you cut). Remove with a spoon all the guts and seeds. The pumpkin is then easly scooped and scraped out of the skin. I love this method because there is very little waste. The seeds are still good to process for snacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cmoore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dupo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I don't bother with the water, I just wrap in tin foil and bake until tender. Also, any left over puree that you don't need can be frozen in patches for pumpkin bread or muffins for later on in the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very easy following the directions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingfor7

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Easy. I poked holes in the pumpkins and just put them on a baking tray and baked. So much easier than the way I usually cook my pumpkins. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pumpkin Pie

Follow this quick and easy recipe for perfect pumpkin pie.

How to Make Roast Christmas Goose

See the easy way to make gorgeous roast goose for Christmas dinner!

Low-Fat Pumpkin Flan

See an easy recipe for a light version of pumpkin flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States