Cooked Fruit Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
To avoid cooked chunks of egg, temper the eggs before adding to the dressing. To do this, put a little bit of dressing into the egg and whisk. Repeat. This will get the egg's temp to match the dressing's and avoid the cooking effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Flavor is great, but it was a bit thin. By the time you pour it onto fruit that is a bit water already.....it gets thinner. Next time I would use 1 1/2 - 2 T cornstarch depending on what fruit I am using! I also had some egg chunks floating in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This was good but not memorable. Despite my constant stirring, the egg cooked into chunks that I had to strain out. I would have liked this better if it had been thicker, because it didn't stick to the fruit well enough. It did taste delicious, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Caroline, thanks so much for sharing this delightful recipe! Once, at least 20 years ago, I had this at a Ladies Bible Study luncheon. I had never had it before or since. It's wonderful. I went 'Scotch' on the sugar and substituted half of it with an artificial sweetner. We're not diabetic in this house but have been paring down oils and sugars, nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Really, really nice. Has a nice citrus-ey flavor, and very easy. I used a 1/4 cup of pineapple juice instead of the juice from the can because I used fresh pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Cee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
this is better than store bought fruit with syrup,because it has that little bit of tang to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
this goes great using any type of fruit or fruit juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Yummy! Especially great with Mandrin oranges, pineapple, bananas, and apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I just spent ages looking through my mom's old cookbooks for this recipe-without success. It's exactly like I remembered it. I beat the egg with a little of the juice before adding it to the pan and it mixed in smoothly. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
The dressing was very good but I ended up with chunks of egg white in it. Maybe I did not stir it enough? Next time I will leave the egg out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States