Cooked Eggnog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I think homemade eggnog tastes WAY better than store bought. I added a bit more vanilla and nutmeg than the recipe called for. This didn't take long to make and I loved the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam2015

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Hedrick, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Good set of ingredients, but better to scald the milk and pour slowly into egg/sugar mixture while stirring constantly and then heat on low until thickened than to heat the egg directly in the pot. Scrambled my eggs doing it as directed. Should have followed my custard cooking method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Tastes great! Some people talked about it being too thin. I would suggest cooking just a little longer. I noticed mine was quite runny after 5 minutes. I cooked a little longer and it thickened up quite fast at about 10 minutes. About the consistency of pudding. Everyone's thickening time will vary. After adding the additional milk it thinned back out to the right consistency. I also substituted the sugar with a can of sweetened condensed milk (was nearing expiration). Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GMGRACE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gibraltar, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I cut the recipe in half to fit it in the blender. My adjustments were to blend the eggs, sugar, and milk together, then cook it. My daughter and I cooked it too long, but we put it back in the blender. That took care of the scrambled eggs. :-) Chilled it, added an extra 1/4 c. of sugar, and blend again! Top with Cool Whip and a sprinkle of cinnamon...Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HolySpiritHost
Home Town: York New Salem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Windsor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Very simple to make. So glad it's a cooked version. Very delicious. I added a half cup more sugar, used equal amounts of whole milk and half and half, added more nutmeg to taste and about 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
As written, the recipe was pretty boring tasting. I thought the texture was good. I should have known that the eggs needed to be tempered into the hot liquid instead of heated all together because that makes it taste eggy in my experience. I added a bunch of warm spices (nutmeg, cinnamon, cardamom),a splash of maple syrup and more vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Weak flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I made this recipe for the first time and I followed the instructions exactly and it had chunks of egg in it. I will not be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mamou, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Eunice, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I use this recipe all the time however I add a can of sweetened condensed milk to thicken it instead of sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Thin and tasted like runny eggs horrible
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Eggnog

Learn how to make this rich and delicious holiday classic.

Amazingly Good Eggnog

See how to make creamy rum eggnog that’s…amazingly good.

Iced Coffee

See how to make a quick chocolate coffee milkshake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States