Consomme Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2005
You might need to add an extra can of consomme'AND CUT OUT OR ONLY USE 1/4 C. OF WATER to this dish (pour it directly on top of the pork chops once the layering is complete). This is probably the reason the recipe was dry. I should have put it in the original posting of the recipe. SORRY FOR ANY CONFUSION!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
Yum! My Mom used to make this recipe too. We put the pork chops in first, then spooned rice all around the open areas of a 9x13 pan, then laid sliced, rings of the onion around the whole pan before covering with 1 to 1 1/2 cans of consomme. We would cover the pan and cook until rice was tender and moist (approx. 1hr.) GREAT recipe for last minute casserole w/ staples usually found on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
This is a wonderful pork chop recipe, full of flavor and very tender. I used a wild rice with seasoning packet for a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
We really liked this recipe. Tasty, filling and fast. I didn't have any consomme so I used a can of french onion soup (in addition to the sliced onion) and it was very good, but we are onion lovers. Will definitely make again (and again).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Delish! Don't forget to add the extra can of broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Wow, This was very good especially considering the effort I put into it. Next time I will double the rice...we all loved the crunchy edge. I had no Consomme so used beef broth. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This recipe is delicious. I would recommend 2 cans of beef consomme instead of using water. I also covered the pan before I put it in the oven so the pork was very moist and the rice was done. Next time I make this i'm going to add garlic to give it some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This recipe was great! Even my picky 12-year-old said it was really good! Here's what I changed in the recipe: I used season salt instead of plain salt; increased the rice to 1 1/2 cups; used 3 cups of chicken broth (that's what I had on hand) and 2 chicken bouillon cubes AND 1/2-3/4 cup water (some reviewers said theirs came out dry). I also seasoned the rice and water mixture with season salt and pepper. I covered it with tin foil and baked for 1 hour, it came out perfect and moist. With these small changes, my family loved it! Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bells67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temperance, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Chadwick
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These chops were very moist and tasty. I had long grain and wild rice (Rice-a-Roni) and I used beef broth instead of water...per the box instructions. My husband is not a rice eater but her really like the way the flavor was absorbed into the rice. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Chadwick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Can I rate it a 10? Let me start of saying... I don't like pork AT ALL but had some in the freezer I needed to use up. So, if I rate it that high, it MUST be good! I DID do a few things different just because of what my family likes, but I'm sure it would be good either way! I seasoned the pork chops with some Old Bay as well as salt and pepper before I drudged it in flour just for some extra kick. I also followed other's advice and added extra liquid. I used 1C rice and added 2C chicken broth (didn't have beef consume) and 1/2C white wine (instead of water). I used onions like it called for, which gave the dish great flavor. I also had mushrooms in the fridge so I added those too. mmmm!!!!! I cooked it for 40 minutes and is was PERFECT! Moist, tender, juicy. AMAZING! Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States