Consomme Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Did not like this at all - husband, kids or myself. Pork chops were dry and the flavor was not that great. Found it similar to a recipe we used to make that used a can of mushroom soup and 1 can of milk rather than the consomme soup and it is much better than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
I just love when I find a recipe that I always have all the ingredients for, it takes a second to put together, and it turns out this good!! I used one can of beef consomme, one can of water, and one can of condensed french onion soup (omitted the onion) and the liquid to rice ratio was perfect. Covered with foil and it only needed about 1 hour to cook. The chops were very tender and not dry at all! Thanks for sharing this easy dinner, I'll be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
Great! But here is my mods, i cooked the rice in the consomme for about 10 min, then, instead of onion, i used a can of french onion soup...baked for ab hour and wow, my mom used to make this as a kid, it was my fav!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I made this tonight for dinner and did not care for it. I followed the recipe to the letter. The top layer of rice didn't cook and the chops were dry. I doubt I will make it again but, if I do, I will add two cups of liquid and cover the baking dish with foil, removing it the last 15 minutes. I won't cook it as long as called for in the recipe, either. I partly blame myself because, when I read the recipe, I thought to myself..."self, you should add another 1/2 cup of water and cover with aluminum foil". I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This recipe was great! Even my picky 12-year-old said it was really good! Here's what I changed in the recipe: I used season salt instead of plain salt; increased the rice to 1 1/2 cups; used 3 cups of chicken broth (that's what I had on hand) and 2 chicken bouillon cubes AND 1/2-3/4 cup water (some reviewers said theirs came out dry). I also seasoned the rice and water mixture with season salt and pepper. I covered it with tin foil and baked for 1 hour, it came out perfect and moist. With these small changes, my family loved it! Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bells67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temperance, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2008
This recipe is delicious. I would recommend 2 cans of beef consomme instead of using water. I also covered the pan before I put it in the oven so the pork was very moist and the rice was done. Next time I make this i'm going to add garlic to give it some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
covering is probably essential as my rice dried out too....and i didn't catch it until it was too late--i tried to salvage by adding more water...i think this would have been best with french onion soup AND consomme because as is--it was kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Sanger

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
Wow, This was very good especially considering the effort I put into it. Next time I will double the rice...we all loved the crunchy edge. I had no Consomme so used beef broth. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Delish! Don't forget to add the extra can of broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chittenango, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
The pork came out tender but my rice did not have enough liquid to cook entirely so some rice was a bit hard. I also added some ground sage which I like with pork. It reminded my husband of a dish his mom used to make so I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States