Consomme Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
Mine turned out great. I think the key is using consomme and not plain broth. Just make sure to cover the dish and check halfway or so to make sure the rice does not dry out. I will make this again for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I made this today after reading all the good reviews, but I have to say it wasn't as good as I hoped it would be. I used boneless center cut pork chops and though they turned out tender, they were a little dry. (I did keep this covered and even cooked it about 10 min less). The rice was gummy even though it was cooked enough. I even added the extra broth. There wasn't a whole lot of flavor for my taste and my husband agreed that I shouldn't make it again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
We used french onion soup instead of consomme as suggested by someone else. It came out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
five stars is not enough. i loved this. i will double the recipe next time. i followed other reviewers advice and i used long grain and wild rice and also used the spice packet. and i used one can of beef broth b/c thats what i had. i also covered it with tin foil. it was soooooo good, thanks sooo much for this recipe. i will make this many many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
My entire family loved this. I did take the suggestions from some other reviews. I used a box of Uncle Ben's Long Grain & Wild Rice and stirred in a can of consomme and a can of french onion soup. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BKIENBUSCH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Paragould, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Can I rate it a 10? Let me start of saying... I don't like pork AT ALL but had some in the freezer I needed to use up. So, if I rate it that high, it MUST be good! I DID do a few things different just because of what my family likes, but I'm sure it would be good either way! I seasoned the pork chops with some Old Bay as well as salt and pepper before I drudged it in flour just for some extra kick. I also followed other's advice and added extra liquid. I used 1C rice and added 2C chicken broth (didn't have beef consume) and 1/2C white wine (instead of water). I used onions like it called for, which gave the dish great flavor. I also had mushrooms in the fridge so I added those too. mmmm!!!!! I cooked it for 40 minutes and is was PERFECT! Moist, tender, juicy. AMAZING! Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holly Chadwick
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
These chops were very moist and tasty. I had long grain and wild rice (Rice-a-Roni) and I used beef broth instead of water...per the box instructions. My husband is not a rice eater but her really like the way the flavor was absorbed into the rice. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Chadwick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centerburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was a great dinner! I have some food allergies and modified the recipe a bit (used rice flour & chicken broth-2 cups/no water) and added some onion powder and sage to the flour before coating the chops. Also added some Tony's seasoning to the rice/chops. (we like spice) My husband raved about it - I'll definitely make this again! Also, after reading some of the other comments, I did cover it for the duration of the cooking time. I think that helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is a recipe I have been making for years and we all love it. You definitely must cover the dish for baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This was one of the first things I made for my husband after we got married and he loved it! It's a regular monthly meal in our house-- minus the onions. My kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States