Connoisseur's Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
My sister made this when she had most of our clan together. What a hit! Recipe leaves room for substitutions so you can put your own spin on this dish, like halved grape tomatoes instead of pimentos, or adding some cooked hopped chicken or ham chunks, or seasoned breadcrumbs instead of the butter cracker-almond crust. This dish did cook slower than time reported. I will sauté the onions before adding them, to reduce the required time in the oven. Delicious! Definitely a do-over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
For Thanksgiving, I wanted to make something a bit different instead of plain old green bean casserole, so I decided to try this recipe. I used yellow whole kernel corn since I didnt' have any white corn on hand,and used cream of mushroom soup since I didn't have any cream of celery. Added a jar of canned mushooms and used French's fried onions on top instead of the crackers because my daughter loves them. Omitted the slivered almonds. Everybody loved this casserole. Thanks for the great recipe, Aprilynne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Berserkr
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Topping is crispy!! Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
I've been trying to find this recipe after losing it after Thanksgiving last year. It was without a doubt the best green bean casserole I've ever had! All time favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUE2MIAMIU

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake Village, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
WOW! The Best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
I am sorry I cannot rate this fairly. When I read this recipe it just screamed to me "ADD CHICKEN"....so I did. I added and entire boiled and deboned chicken that I inteded to make some sort of casserole out of. I am glad I tried it. It was wonderful. They all went back for a second helping. I used yellow corn and also added some fresh mushroom slices, diced zucchini and yellow squash that I needed to use in something. I also had to sub the cream of celery soup to cream of mushroom b/c that's what I had on hand. We are very much looking forward to the leftovers tonight. Thanks for the wonderful idea!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Wills Point, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Delicious recipe that is a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYVOLFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Stockbridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
DELISCIOUS! I made this for Christmas dinner and everyone loved it! I have since started Weight Watchers and made some changes like using fat free soup and cheese and low fat sour cream. I also omitted the crackers, almonds and butter and it was still very good and diet friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vincennes, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
A nice side dish when you need something with a little more substance than just plain green beans. The whole family enjoyed this, and it was very simple to prepare. I left out the almonds this time, but would try them in the future. Great recipe! Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Absolutely delicious! Everyone raved about it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetslady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States