Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
We're talking WOW factor here. Who knew zucchini could be THIS great? Warning.. these "cakes" are addictive. Next time I will try the baking at 400 method, so I can make more, faster. : ) Thanks Connie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I am from Baltimore, Md, and we pride ourselves on crabcakes. These taste like the inexpensive frozen crabcakes you can buy in the market, or the kind that are served in those "buffet" places, (here we have "Golden Corral"). To a crab afficionado, these taste like filler, but like Connie says, it's a great way to use up that extra zucchini you get at the end of the summer from your garden and friends. One thing you must do is drain the zucchini. Put it in a colander with some salt, then squeeze through a tea (terry) towel. You will only get about one fourth of what you started with. If you don't like the seeds, scrape them out before you drain the zucchini. They are a little work, but I think worth it...another thing, don't forget to dredge them in flour before frying, this makes them more like crabcakes...crunchy on the outside. Thanks Connie, I think it's a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Very good. I used 3/4 cup plain bread cumbs and 1/4 seasoned bread crumbs due to what I had on hand. Followed the rest to a T with the exception of screwing up and mixed the flour with the other ingredients instead of dredging. I will definitely do that always as I have made these several times before as written and they stayed together much better this time and cooked to a beautiful golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Di

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Factoryville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
This recipe is so easy. I cannot believe how much these "crab cakes" taste so much like the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
I've made these like 4 times now. The first time I accidentally forgot to dip them in the flour and they turned out just fine! No need. I also don't drain my zucchini or do anything to get the water out & they turn out great. I grate the zucchini then immediately make the recipe, maybe that's why; they don't sit around getting watery. Also, I only use 1/4 c oil & I think I could even use less. I love these! So good. Think I might try the oven version next since it would be alot healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
To make them taste more like "crab" cakes, I added a packet of bonito flakes. I served them over fresh tomatoes and squeezed some Japanese Mayo over them as a garnish. I also shredded a half of carrot in the mix to give it a pretty color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
Although I made changes I think this was excellent. I've made mock crab cakes before and they are really wet. I did shed, salt and drain mine. I called them more of a "summer pancake" I didn't have oldbay which gives it the "crab" taste but I had fresh basil, and cilantro and I chopped those up and put them in there. I fried some and baked some at 400 for 12min, flip and 12min more. Little mayo, and a tomatoe on top! Yum. I make these like once a week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
These zucchini cakes are amazing! I forgot to put flour but they still turned out great. I made a few changes: lightly salted and squeezed all moisture out of shredded zucchini; added 1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs and 1/2 cup panko; instead of Old Bay seasoning (did not have it on hand) added 1 tbsp dried oregano, 1 tbsp dried basil, some pepper and garlic powder. They tasted great. Even my kids, who loath vegetables, gobbled these up. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I've made this recipe twice. The first time, I used an extremely large zucchini, scraped out all the seeds, added dehydrated onions to soak up some of the moisture, added a little garlic salt as well as all the other ingredients (except butter), and it was awesome. Not soggy at all. I didn't measure any of the ingredients; I just added everything together until it looked right. I also added butter to the vegetable oil for frying. I must've done okay because it was really good. The second time I made it, I did everything exactly the same as the first time except I added a half a bottle of clam juice to make a "poor woman's crabcake." Although these came out a little soggy (not too bad, though), they really tasted like crabcakes. Put one on a bun with a little cocktail sauce and you'd think you were in Maryland. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
These were okay, but they didn't fool us into thinking we were eating crab!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren H.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Barrie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,020) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

How to Make Crab Cakes

See how to make a cakes recipe that really shows off quality crabmeat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States