Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
These cakes were very good.As a filler I added Porridge Oats with Oat Bran,Wheat Bran and Flax Seed this I ground very fine.I baked them. For seasoning I added a teaspoon of Taco Seasoning. They come out crisp on the out side and soft in the inside - perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rocanville, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Very good. I added a can of crab meat, dredged in panko and baked instead of fried. I used another reviewers advice and made a dip with Mayo, Lemon juice and a lot of sriracha sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Faith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Great dish. I think I would not be fooled into thinking that these tasty patties are crab cakes. They don't need to be exactly like crab cakes. They are wonderful as they are. I used cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs (because I have a meat grinder and can smush up a whole box of saltines in no time), and I used Cavender's Greek Seasoning instead of Old Bay (it's a local product, google it). I think I can probably make them without the recipe, now. First, don't worry if the batter is a little gushy. It should be barely workable. My suggestion is to make a ball and roll it in the flour on a plate. Put it in the skillet and don't worry about shaping it into a patty. after you turn it you can flatten it out with the spatula. When they are done they should be crispy on the outside and soft on the inside, like a crab cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
The patties are cooling off on my kitchen counter as I write this. The patties taste very good. However the mix was too wet. The patties were falling apart in my hands when I tried to dredge them. I will try this recipe again but will omit most of the oil and probably add a bit more bread crumbs. I added some salt, pepper and garlic powder because the Old Bay spices alone were not enough to give the mix a punch. Overall, though, a great recipe to adjust to our tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LL
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
It's been way to hot to turn the oven on and found this recipe and it was perfect. I had zucchini I needed to use and made this up in no time. I used panko and didn't use the flour, Fried in Olive oil. Will made again and Connie- thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southampton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Yum! Added some cayenne and baked. 400 degrees, 15 min each side. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
These were yummy. I only used 1 tbsp of oil, and used a brush to coat the whole pan with it, and it was just enough. I was prepared to add another tbsp of oil after flipping but it didn't need it and I was glad because I'm watching my calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiesmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Instead of using bread crumbs I used panko crumbs, omitted the old bay and used fresh cilantro. Added 1/4 cup of the frozen mex corn mix and 1/2 cup shredded cooked chicken for a main meal. Drain the shredded zucchini. Served them w/ Marie's chipolte ranch dressing on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by "Flowerchild"
Home Town: Clarksburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Moosup, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
only 4 stars, because i followed other reviewers and tweaked it a bit. i would have given 5 stars if these changes were in the original...... I increased the Old Bay to 2 teaspoons. I lightly salted and drained the zucchini as per other reviewers. I accidentally dumped in the flour along with the breadcrumbs, but this turned out just fine for my family and i had no problem making them into patties so will do that again. To make this a vegan meal, substitute 3 TB water + 1 TB ground flax for the egg and omit butter. When you mix those two together and let sit for 5 min before adding to the crumb mixture the flax serves as a binder just as well as the egg would have. Lastly, I oiled a baking sheet and baked them for 15 min at 400, flipped them and baked again for 15 min. THESE WERE GREAT AS A MEAL!! i served them with tzakziki sauce (warning, tzakziki is not vegan) made from this site, corn on the cob, and a smoothie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
vegateran crab cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,047) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States