Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
I added cheese and substituted a few individual spices for the old bay seasoning. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Bascom
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2015
I changed it up a bit and used 2 c zucchini (well drained) and 4.25 oz of canned crab meat. With help from another review, I baked at 400 degrees for 12-15 minutes on each side on a well oiled baking sheet. I will definitely make this again and am so glad I had a good guideline recipe to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
I made these for the first time--following the recipe exactly--and we were very disappointed. They did not taste like crab. The middle was slushy. Cooking them any longer would have resulted in burning them. I would not advise anyone trying them without first referring to the posts with advice; and I strongly suggest that the recipe be augmented with everyone's tips and tricks, such as draining the zucchini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2015
These are great. Grated them into a colander and added a little salt, waited, pressed the water out. Then followed the rest of the recipe. Baked them in the oven at 400 for 40 minutes with some spray oil. Coated one in spicy panko crumbs and that was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
The 3 rating is for the original recipe, which does not direct you to drain the shredded zucchini first. If you follow this recipe as I did, it will be very difficult not to have a soggy mess for your "cakes." So take the advice of the reviewers and drain the shredded zucchini first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany66
Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
Good taste, but you really do need to squeeze the water out of the zucchini. I let it drain in a colander for a couple of hours and it was still too wet. I used a heaping teaspoon of Old Bay and coated the cakes in breadcrumbs, and also froze them before coating as someone suggested. They did taste like commercial crabcakes, but nothing beats the real thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2015
Loved these! I made a lot of changes (dietary issues)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
Love these zucchini cakes! We're vegetarians and love zucchini squash. This recipe was given to us by some non-vegetarian friends. We followed the recipe exactly, but we didn't have Old Bay seasoning. We found a substitute recipe on this website. We dredged in flour and fried in canola oil. They turned out fantastic! My husband made a dipping sauce of sour cream, dill weed, black pepper, season salt, and lemon juice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2015
Serving with tomatoes is a must! 1/2 teaspoon of Old Bay was plenty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
I have made this several times now and it is always delicious. Crispy outside and creamy inside. I have made it for friends and they love it. Perfect summer recipe for fresh garden zucchini. Remember to squeeze out extra moisture from the grated zucchini and it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,066) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

My Crab Cakes

These crab cakes are simple to make, but rich and memorable.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States