Congo Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Good texture but not for me, thanks. I found the flavour was better before adding the tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I would not reccomend this recipie. Too odd of flavors mixed together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I'd never cooked with tofu before, so didn't know what to do with it. This might have been an odd choice to start with, but it turned out pretty well. Interesting combination of flavors. It does need some spices and some extra liquid, as others have mentioned, and it looked awful, but it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David Douthett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Such an odd combo...but it IS delish...I copied latavaeas ideas of cutting the tomato paste and pb down...however I used hunts red spicy pepper pasta sauce and used a little less than 1/2 a cup and the pb I used a table spoon and melted it in the microwave....CAREFUL my first melt job burned:(...I also used canola oil instead of peanut and added zuchini, mushrooms, eggplant and crushed walnuts...near the end it did become sticky so I added a little bit of H20 to lighten up and I sprinkled curry over it as well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mr. Whisk
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Followed recipe as written. The more I ate, the more I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Whisk

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I read the reviews before I cooked the meal. So i modified it with a cup of chicken broth (which i made from 1 bouillie cube and a cup of hot water). But the key ingredient (which was written the a previous review) was some spices. I put in some paprika and cumin and ground black pepper and this dish was amazing. I also added more garlic (again someone said this in a review). So I think someone should probably modify the recipe. There were such mixed reviews and I was about to pass on cooking this, thinking i would waste my time and food, but the peanut butter ingredient really intrigued me. So I tried it and i'm glad I did. Definite give this one a go, but add those extra ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
the whole family ended up eating cold cereal for dinner. :((
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
The one star is given fors a nice idea for flavor combination. Things went well until it was time to add the peanut butter. It did not melt so much as start to scorch. I turned the heat down even though this is not included in the directions. Next was the tomato paste-it calls for 3/4 of a 6-ounce can. As I tried to combine the ingredients, I saw that they would not blend easily and it was a very thick paste which would just sit in top of the rice. I take full responsibility for the following: I tried to doctor it up with a little oil..then water, then it turned into this huge amount and the pb became lumpy and unappealing. A strange red oily substance began to separate from the sauce. I removed most of the "sauce" so there was a small amount on the tofu then added 1/2 tsp of chili powder for flavor and...Ketchup! Ketchup is a miracle worker. This recipe was a flavor/texture mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mscooksalot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This is a good idea and I was excited about it, but I think it turned out only so-so, even with a lot of modifications. For starters, I actually made it with a cup of plain tomato sauce rather than tomato paste (this was after reading other reviews that it was too dry without broth or water added). I also added about 1/4 cup lemon juice to add some extra zest and moisture, but the peanut butter in the amount called for was still too overpowering. I would definitely halve or even third the amount of peanut butter next time. Also, I found the flavor to be pretty bland...it does need something else. I added rooster sauce when I ate it and extra garlic and garlic salt, but still lacking. I didn't really have any other Asian spices besides some chili garlic sauce which I also put in, but I think that would help if there were some additional spices. I also added chopped bell peppers and chopped green cabbage that I simmered with the tofu and sauce and that helped a lot. I considered adding canned tomatoes, (like other reviews mention) even a can of Rotel to the mix, but I was afraid of adding too many elements to the dish--now I'm thinking some Rotel would've helped perk it up a bit. Weird recipe, but has potential--I'll maybe try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Costa Mesa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States