Congo Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I followed the recipe and was very unimpressed. After a half hour of cooking, they were still completely doughy, so I turned the heat up to 350 and left them in for an extra 20 minutes. They still ended up doughy. (No, it's not my oven.) Maybe they are supposed to be doughy, but we prefer things to be cooked around here. The flavor was less than desirable - quite bland. I wonder if adding a little vanilla would help it a bit.?. Either way, I won't be trying these again. Cookies would have definitely been quicker and much tastier. Disappointing. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
This has been a family recipe for years. My Nana used to make them and they were Pepere's favorite desert. The recipe got passed down to my mom and she passed it down to me. It is a family favorite and I am not allowed to go to any holiday event without bringing a pan of these. I think they remind my siblings and cousins of holidays with our grandparents. I know they remind me of my mother. The only differences in our recipe is we always use margarine. I've tried using butter and the consistency is off every time. The other thing missing is 1-2tsp of vanilla and I use probably double the amount of chocolate chips. I'm only going to give the recipe 3 stars as is... but the way my family makes them they are 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Just as good as they were when my mom made them for me growing up. I cut the 3/4 cup butter down to 2/3 and baked at 350 instead (still came out plenty gooey), but left it alone other than that. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
I have a recipe like this from my grandma that we used to make a lot. We added 1 tablespoon vanilla to ours! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDY ASHLEY
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
awesome! wanted something sweet, didn't want to wait to bake a bunch of cookies! This was perfect! I added 3/4 cup coconut, just because I love it! thanks for a great quick and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I have had this recipe since I was 8 years old and had lost it recently, so was so glad to find this. Just the same as my lost recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I haven't made these in a few years but I am so glad I found the recipe again. Moist and chewy. So good, I have been making them at least once a week, and they never last long. Also, taste great with both white chocolate or butterscotch chips mixed in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma-diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I have been making congo squares for many years. My mom and chef sister still can't make them like I do. The secret is to beat each of the three eggs one at a time for three minutes each. The texture of the final product is much better and bakes lighter. Bake at 350 degrees for 28 minutes only, even if they don't look done. Also, I use Crisco instead of butter and one 1 pound box of LIGHT BROWN sugar. When they are at room temp, they are very gooey inside. Good luck! I think if you use my tips, you too will be a congo square Queen like me! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babyrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
My mother made these when i was a kid. (Cookies are time consuming ;) Like cookies, don't overbake: better a bit underdone so they're nice and chewy when cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RueBarbe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking for 3
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
the taste was good. the texture was a mix between a cookie and a cake and a brownie. I will def. do this one again. I didnt do anything different
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking for 3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Misawa, Aomori, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Cranberry Hootycreeks

Give cranberry hootycreeks as a memorable gift of "cookies in a jar."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States