Congo Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I have had this recipe since I was 8 years old and had lost it recently, so was so glad to find this. Just the same as my lost recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
This recipe is great for a quick dessert. I'm a chocolate chip cookie lover, so I loved these squares. It's kind of like a blondie brownie with chocolate chips. (I added a little more than 6oz!) It would probably also be good with butterscotch chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I have been making congo squares for many years. My mom and chef sister still can't make them like I do. The secret is to beat each of the three eggs one at a time for three minutes each. The texture of the final product is much better and bakes lighter. Bake at 350 degrees for 28 minutes only, even if they don't look done. Also, I use Crisco instead of butter and one 1 pound box of LIGHT BROWN sugar. When they are at room temp, they are very gooey inside. Good luck! I think if you use my tips, you too will be a congo square Queen like me! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babyrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
I doubled the amount of the chocolate chips and these were amazing. Everyone I gave them to absolutely loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Scrumptious and easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Tastes great! Cooked longer tho' wanted them browner-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
Wonderful recipe for a square of chocolate cakey goodness. Sweet and light, I will definitely make these again! I added no nuts,just 2 ounces of chocolate and I thought that worked perfectly, would be yummy with nuts too I'm sure1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
this recipe is just like the on my mom use to make when I was a child. I add a little bit of my own ingredients to it like peanutbutter chips, and I have to double it so I add milk chocolate chips and peanutbutter chips, or chocolate carmel chips and leave out the nuts I have allergies to nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
My grandmother used to make this same exact recipe and it's a family favorite and now 30something years later it is still a must have for my family that I make every holiday! The only difference i see is that we use a 350º oven and you have to carefully watch the time and sometimes take out 5 minutes early depending on your oven. They can be very gooey or very cakey.. my family likes them gooeier... also we just tried making them with the splenda brown sugar blend and they came out just as good but with no sugar for the diabetics in our family. Wonderful cookie bar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2008
I haven't made these in a few years but I am so glad I found the recipe again. Moist and chewy. So good, I have been making them at least once a week, and they never last long. Also, taste great with both white chocolate or butterscotch chips mixed in as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma-diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States