Conga Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
i found this a really easiy and tasty recipe. although i found the mixture still raw after cooking for only 10min, and had to cook for another 10-20 extra min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
I made these and they are great for a house of sweet tooths. I had to up the cooking time to 30 minutes and the YOU HAVE TO LET THEM COOL FOR AT LEAST AN HOUR!! The inside was not doughy, but gooey with all the sugar and chocolate. I then cut them and let them sit overnight and they are solid this morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
My grandmother used to make these as well. I found the recipe after she had passed away. Nobody else in the family has this! So every year I make them. I use pecans instead, and you are suppose to cook them for 30-45 min. depending on your oven. They are suppose to be a little moist in the middle. SO, many memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I thought this was an ok recipe, however, my family and friends all loved it. I baked them in 2- 8x8 pans and ended up cooking for about 30-40 min. (10 min is not long enough) I added a whole bag of choc chips and 1 cup of butterscotch chips. I will be making again for my cookie baskets at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
My mom used to make these sans nuts all the time. As an adult, I was silly enough to think she just pressed cookie dough in a pan instead of cookies. This recipe IS CORRECT!! The thing that some people might not have noticed, as I have done the very same thing on many a recipe, is the pan size. That is a HUGE pan. 14x 17 is not your normal size on a bar type recipe, so I think maybe that could trip you up. My pan was 13 x 18 and the dough didn't quite reach all corners, but it cooked out beautifully. These do indeed cook in 10 minutes in a HUGE pan pan at 400 degrees. The dough should seem like a thin layer, it will puff up while baking. You will likely need to press it out as you fill your pan. They are absolutely divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
This either didn't cook right or just tastes bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
These tasted really good, BUT - do they ever get cooked in the middle? I had them in the oven for ages, and the middle just collapsed when taken out of the pan as it was so soft. Would like to try the other Conga bars recipe to see if that is better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I halved the recipe and baked for about 30 minutes. I also didn't use chocolate or nuts but added tiny bit of cinnamon and nutmeg. They came out good and tasted great with strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princesa97

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
I took the advice of others and cooked it overall a total of 40-50 minutes and it is still gooey in the middle and just a gooey chewey mess. Would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2003
Yummm!! These were great - the whole family loved them. I substituted the chocolate chips with butterscotch chips which resulted in a tasty, carmel-y flavour. I also halved the recipe and used an 8 x 8 pan. Next time I'll probably use the original recipe proportions since they got eaten up so quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Hedgehogs

These gluten-free cookies feature walnuts, dates, brown sugar, and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States