Confetti Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
YUMMY! My hubby was confused because I have always made traditional coleslaw with mayo dressing (family recipe) but in an attempt to make it a little healthier, I searched for something new and found this! Scaled down to 4 serving, I didn't change much. I used C.Gofron's tip about salting the cabbage and letting it sit to bring out the extra water and it seemed to work well. Since I did that (even though I rinsed it well) I didn't add salt to the recipe. I added a lot more carrot to make it more appealing to my girls. The only other change I did was instead of the green onion (only called for 2.5 TBS scaled down and not worth buying a whole bunch) I used 1/4 of a shredded sweet onion... really good but maybe even a little less onion needed next time. Definitely a keeper summer recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NativeAZMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I always thought I preferred the creamy type of coleslaw, but this has changed my mind. Do try to make time to let it rest in the fridge for several hours (or even days) before eating, as it gets more flavorful the longer it sits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I did alter this recipe quite a bit. I used 1/2 red cabbage and 1/2 julienned collard greens. Also, instead of green onions I used a small yellow onion and I omitted the red pepper simply because I did not have any on hand. I added a dash of sesame oil, about 2 tbls hoisin sauce and some garlic powder. Came out very good. I suggest letting it sit in the fridge overnight before eating. Also, I followed another reviewer's advice and sweated out the red cabbage with salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
AMAZING! That coming from a household that hates conventional coleslaw. I tweaked the recipe a bit - i didn't have green onion, switched orange pepper for the red, then added a package of cooked, crumbled bacon. I also mixed in several tablespoons of Pampered Chef's Asian Seasoning. I LOVE this recipe - and so did everyone I had for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Hard to believe a coleslaw could be so good for you and delicious! I used olive oil instead of vegetable, otherwise followed strictly. This is now on my families faves list!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pete

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Stonington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
I didn't have the different types of cabbage so I used the pre-shredded cabbage/carrot mix from the store. Fantastic recipe! HINT: to prevent over watery slaw, place the cabbage in a strainer and coat/toss with plenty of salt. Put the strainer on top of a bowl and let it sit for about an hour. You will see all the excess water in the bowl from the cabbage. RINSE IT WELL until the salt taste is gone. Then mix rinsed cabbage with the other ingredients and let it sit over night. The "empty" cabbage will then be able to soak up the flavors of the vinegar, honey and seasonings. This will totally change your slaw taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Gofron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This is a very simple but tastey cole slaw recipe. I made it even simpler but just using a bag of preshredded cabbage from the bagged salad aisle. It already had two colors of cabbage & carrots. I shredded another carrot into it and still added the green onion & red pepper. First time I made it, we felt it needed just a little extra something. The second time I added a splash of lemon juice & a little extra salt to the dressing. We liked it better that way. But even as written, for as easy & quick as it was to put together, we enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I was surprised this didn't taste super sweet because of the amount of honey in it. But that's ok, I didn't really want a sweet dressing. I've been trying to duplicate a slaw they serve at our favorite Mexican restaurant, this isn't it but it's not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Very nice. I do add craisons to the mix to add a touch of sweet/tartness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tai Po, New Territories, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
I made this last spring and it was wonderful. We had it with lowfat sloppy joes and it was a nice addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Ramen Coleslaw

A crunchy coleslaw with ramen and cabbage in a tangy vinegar dressing.

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States