Confetti Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was delicious. I did take the advice of other reviewers and added diced red pepper, minced garlic, white and cayenne pepper and herbes de provence. I did not add the sugar either. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
My family liked this recipe. Although my 11 year old said there were too many veggies, LOL! I followed the recipe very closely. I had a bag of mixed veggies in the freezer (same ones as in the recipe) which I used instead of fresh. I added some Italian seasoning and minced garlic based on other reviews. I did not use peas or pimentos because we don't like them. This is a great base recipe that you can use exactly as is or play around with to suit your family's taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was very good. It did need a little more flavor for my family's taste. I took the advice of other reviewers & added 3 cloves minced fresh garlic, 1T herbs de Provence and a couple shakes of red pepper flakes. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This was a fantastic recipe!!! My husband isn't a big fan of zucchini so I substituted potatoes and it turned out just as delicious!! I will DEFINITELY make this again! Thank you for this gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheflacey84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harvey, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I thought this was great! I did add quite a bit of minced garlic and omitted the corn (I'm watching my carb intake) and peas (I don't like them). I used organic chicken broth and only used about a quarter cup or so of fat free half-n-half. I just needed to up the chicken broth to make up for the missing half-n-half. I only needed about a third of a cup of cheese but I used extra sharp white cheddar, which gave it a lot of flavor without a lot of the fat. I also used turkey ham. After giving it a taste, I did add about a half teaspoon or so of crushed red pepper flake. Next time, I think I'll add some chopped cauliflower and red pepper. I think this would be good with shredded swiss, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I didn't mix in the cheese, we used it as a topping. A little bland but my husband loves it with hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Having all ingredients on hand except for the carrots and broccoli, I had to do a little improvising because I really wanted to make this! To make up for the lost carrots and broccoli, I added extra zucchini, some leftover green beans with bacon, and a cup of cooked, ditalini pasta. I elimimated the sugar (didn't see the reason for it) and added fresh minced garlic. I also added a glug of white wine and a dab of chicken base with the milk and broth and threw in some fresh, minced parsley at the end. Very quick and easy soup to make, tasty, and very satisfying. I eat out in restaurants a LOT, and sometimes a good, comfort food Grandma dish like this is what really hits the spot! Thanks, Rose, for sharing Grandma's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
dee-LISH! Did not add pimento or celery, but kids, hubby and I loved this healthy soup. It's a keeper! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Warm and cozy! Leftover chicken and a cold Michigan spring evening. This recipe was just what I needed tonight! I left out the squash and pimento but did everything else just as directed. I agreed with the other reviewer that it needed more flavor (hence the 4stars) so I added 1 tsp each Basil, Rosemary, Sage, Thyme and a Bay leaf. I love soup made from scratch with NO CREAM OF SOUP added. This one is healthy, colorful, and warm. The only thing I'd add if I wasn't feeding children is a bit of hot-pepper flakes. With all the additions it is 5star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
We LOVED this--kids and all! It IS very colorful. DO use the pimiento; it adds a great taste. However, less pepper? I have made this a few times now. It can be varied too! Made as directed, it is wonderful, but veggies can be omitted without great tragedy =). I use chicken bouillon instead of salt for more chicken flavor, and added a bit of cayenne. Bacon fat can be used for flavor to substitute for some ham and butter. Variations: It tastes great with or without the cheese (Try colby!) -- The second time I made this, I used clam juice for the chicken broth, substituted imitation crab for the ham and omitted the corn and cheese. ~A delightful recipe!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States