Confetti Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was delicious. I did take the advice of other reviewers and added diced red pepper, minced garlic, white and cayenne pepper and herbes de provence. I did not add the sugar either. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
My family liked this recipe. Although my 11 year old said there were too many veggies, LOL! I followed the recipe very closely. I had a bag of mixed veggies in the freezer (same ones as in the recipe) which I used instead of fresh. I added some Italian seasoning and minced garlic based on other reviews. I did not use peas or pimentos because we don't like them. This is a great base recipe that you can use exactly as is or play around with to suit your family's taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This was very good. It did need a little more flavor for my family's taste. I took the advice of other reviewers & added 3 cloves minced fresh garlic, 1T herbs de Provence and a couple shakes of red pepper flakes. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
This was a fantastic recipe!!! My husband isn't a big fan of zucchini so I substituted potatoes and it turned out just as delicious!! I will DEFINITELY make this again! Thank you for this gem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheflacey84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harvey, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I thought this was great! I did add quite a bit of minced garlic and omitted the corn (I'm watching my carb intake) and peas (I don't like them). I used organic chicken broth and only used about a quarter cup or so of fat free half-n-half. I just needed to up the chicken broth to make up for the missing half-n-half. I only needed about a third of a cup of cheese but I used extra sharp white cheddar, which gave it a lot of flavor without a lot of the fat. I also used turkey ham. After giving it a taste, I did add about a half teaspoon or so of crushed red pepper flake. Next time, I think I'll add some chopped cauliflower and red pepper. I think this would be good with shredded swiss, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I didn't mix in the cheese, we used it as a topping. A little bland but my husband loves it with hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Having all ingredients on hand except for the carrots and broccoli, I had to do a little improvising because I really wanted to make this! To make up for the lost carrots and broccoli, I added extra zucchini, some leftover green beans with bacon, and a cup of cooked, ditalini pasta. I elimimated the sugar (didn't see the reason for it) and added fresh minced garlic. I also added a glug of white wine and a dab of chicken base with the milk and broth and threw in some fresh, minced parsley at the end. Very quick and easy soup to make, tasty, and very satisfying. I eat out in restaurants a LOT, and sometimes a good, comfort food Grandma dish like this is what really hits the spot! Thanks, Rose, for sharing Grandma's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
dee-LISH! Did not add pimento or celery, but kids, hubby and I loved this healthy soup. It's a keeper! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
Warm and cozy! Leftover chicken and a cold Michigan spring evening. This recipe was just what I needed tonight! I left out the squash and pimento but did everything else just as directed. I agreed with the other reviewer that it needed more flavor (hence the 4stars) so I added 1 tsp each Basil, Rosemary, Sage, Thyme and a Bay leaf. I love soup made from scratch with NO CREAM OF SOUP added. This one is healthy, colorful, and warm. The only thing I'd add if I wasn't feeding children is a bit of hot-pepper flakes. With all the additions it is 5star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
We LOVED this--kids and all! It IS very colorful. DO use the pimiento; it adds a great taste. However, less pepper? I have made this a few times now. It can be varied too! Made as directed, it is wonderful, but veggies can be omitted without great tragedy =). I use chicken bouillon instead of salt for more chicken flavor, and added a bit of cayenne. Bacon fat can be used for flavor to substitute for some ham and butter. Variations: It tastes great with or without the cheese (Try colby!) -- The second time I made this, I used clam juice for the chicken broth, substituted imitation crab for the ham and omitted the corn and cheese. ~A delightful recipe!~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States