Confetti Barley Pilaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I really enjoyed this, although I just used the vegetables I had on hand. My boyfriend/roommate were unimpressed, I think because of the creamy barley texture. Next time I would make this with rice or quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
I liked this. A good way to use leftover cabbage and a nice alternative to rice or pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
While this was reasonably good, I felt like it was missing something. It wasn't until it was too late to do anything about it that I realized a little wine with the broth would probably be the answer! I was generous with my vegetables, and I added some toasted almonds to the mixture and topped the dish with them to give some crunch. I would finely dice the carrots rather than shredding them to give them more texture. I love barley, and would like to tinker with this a little to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
Love this recipe ... the only thing I do different is I double the recipe and I put half the recipe in a slow cooker and put a row of either chicken / pork in the middle and top with the remainder of the recipe and let the slow cooker do the rest ... very good ! I am on maintenance with WW and this recipe is just perfect to make one feel full / satisfied without the fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Yum, yum, yum! We really enjoyed this recipe. Instead of shredded carrots and cabbage, I used 1 cup of broccoli slaw and it was fantastic. We'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fennville, Michigan, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I love barley and I love all these ingredients... just didn't quite work for me for some reason. I think the combo of mushrooms and barley didnt appeal to me. It wasn't bad, but there are other barley recipes I prefer.. It was nice try this one though, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This was very good! I used half Bhutanese red rice for half the barley. That was a very good combination! Used red cabbage too, more garlic, salt & pepper, and veggie broth to make it completely veg for my sister in law. It took longer than the time suggested in the recipe for everything to get tender, but that can be the shape of the pot I used (a wide porcelain coated cast iron dutch oven). We both really liked it. I'll be keeping this one. Edited to add: I forgot to mention, I also added celery and toasted walnuts. Loved those additions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Absolutely delicious. Served this for company and everyone loved it. There was none left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Made this exactly according to the recipe. We liked it OK but felt like it was missing a little something flavor-wise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
I left out the cabbage, mushrooms & basil. I added more liquid & a bit of cayenne pepper and wow did that kick it up - excellent! I'll play with it some more, I love it. I didn't even know I liked barley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States