Coney Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This recipe was very good, but a bit too salty. The second time that I made it, I omitted the MSG and just added pepper. With the high salt content in the tomato juice it did not need any more salt. The second try was a big hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
The first time I made this it was for a fundraiser we had for Cub Scouts. It was a big hit. We sold more hot dogs with the sauce then without. I did change the MSG to pepper. The next time I made it I added more chili power and garlic. Just to add a little kick. Everyone loved it. I now make it at home. We like it over French Fries and Cheeseburgers. My son loves it and always wants me to make it instead of buying the sauce in a can. It is easy to make. I do add all the spices and onions to the ground beef when I brown it. Then I put it in the blender to make it fine. Even with the changes I still give this 5 stars, because it is just as good without adding to the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2001
This recipe was absolutely fabulous :) i added half a green pepper and half a tablespoon of Paprika to give it extra flavour (omitted the MSG) and served it on barbequed hotdogs with chopped raw onion topping. extremely easy to make! everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
Great flavor! I used milk in place of the water after hearing on TV how milk helps break down the meat while cooking. It worked!! Will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Absolutely loved this recipe. I made a few corrections for my taste buds. Omitted the MSG.I added 1 Tblsp. of chili powder. Mmmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jeni M.
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
When I first set eyes on this recipe, I was sceptical. It was too easy to be good. I gave it a try anyway and followed the others' suggestion to add pepper to it. Surprisingly enough it was delicious !!! I can hardly wait to share the recipe with my friends. Many of them gave it a try and it is now a big hit among us. So I'm giving it a rating what it deserves, 5 brights stars !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeni M.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
A great recipe. I cooked the onion and garlic with the beef, added beef bouillion to the water and nixed the MSG. Also, I increased the amounts of both garlic and chili powder. I needed to add a bit of white sugar to balance the acidity, but it was probably due to the tomato sauce I used. Thanks much, though. It was just what I was looking for. (This sauce also makes for fabulous garbage fries - pour onto hot cooked french fries and add sour cream or ranch dressing, cheese, peppers, etc. Yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This was very tasty. Almost sloppy joe like, but maybe because I let it simmer on the stove for about 40 minutes or so instead of just 10 minutes. Only because I made the coney sauce first and hadn't put the french fries in the oven yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
This was good. Next time I will leave out the salt. And I did not add the msg. I added paprika and pepper instead. Because It was salty, I added a Tbs. of brown sugar to balance it out. After that It was really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2005
Found this to be an easy recipe to prepare and a very very tasty recipes for hot dogs and french fries as well. My wife and I really love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Maria's Best Pasta Sauce

See how to make a meaty tomato and cream sauce for pasta.

How to Make Bolognese Sauce

See how to make a truly classic ground beef and tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States