Coney Island Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
I've made this recipe a few times now and love it, as is, everytime. It's just yummy to have on a hotdog night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Stierly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I used a very lean beef 96/4 so I did not have much of a reduction in the actual meat. The sauce barely covered the beef, muchless be able to simmer for 40 minutes. I thought the mustard taste was a bit overpowering for me, so next time I will cut that in half. I added more ketchup to be able to simmer and a bit more sugar to try to cut the strong mustard taste. I think this is basically a good recipe with some personal tweaks here and there, it can probably please most people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
we loved this on our hotdogs. I added some more ketschup and some garlic. used food processer to finely grind everything. will freeze and use on our next hotdog time :) ty for sharing this recipe with us :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alpine, New York, USA
Living In: Constantia, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
It wasn't what I was looking for. We must have our own version in south eastern Massachusetts on the shore, though it was referred to as Coney Island Sauce, it didn't taste like this - and though I tried and tried - I couldn't get the taste right..I just can't figure it out. The flavor was "ok", nothing I plan on making again. Sorry...I am sure it's the perfect recipe to some others...just not mine :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Green One

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: West Newfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is so good! I increased the ketchup a little and added 1 tsp Accent seasoning for flavor. Other than that, I followed the recipe. I used very lean ground beef. This is wonderful on hot dogs from the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaye Lynn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mallard, Iowa, USA
Living In: Emmetsburg, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
EVERYONE WHO HAD THIS RECIPE REALLY LIKED IT, AS DID I . tHE ONLY CHANGE I MIGHT MAKE IS TO CUT BACK ON SUGAR A LITTLE, BETWEEN THE KETCHUP AND SUGAR ITS REALLY SWEET. ALSO I HIGLY RECOMMEND PUTTING THE MEAT AND ONION THROUGH FOOD PROCESSOR IF YOU WANT THE BEST TEXTURE, OTHERWISE TOO CHUNKY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Not quite what I was looking for also. As stated from another commentor. But it it taste great and really wasy to make. The taste sort of reminded me of steak sauce. It worked great with an all beef grilled hot dog topped with onions, mustard and pepper jack cheese. And of a good pilsner to wash it down while watching football. But thats just me. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bkj228

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Transfer, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hermitage, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2005
I served this at my son's birthday party so that the adults could eat a more sophisticated hot dog. It went over very well! Great taste. Next time, I think I will try to process the beef so that it is not so chunky; I think someone suggested that they spun it in the blender after browning and draining it. I made it the day before - I followed the recipe up to the point of simmering it. I then refrigerated it and put it in a small crockpot for a couple of hours the next day to do the simmering work with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Three Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan Falls, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Great!!! Highly recommended. I've had it many times. My grandpa was looking for this stuff so I found it on here for him and he loved it and so has everyone who's ever had the pleasure of eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I WAS NOT TOO THRILLED WITH THIS RECIPE..I WOULD NOT CALL IT A SAUCE..NOT ENOUGH LIQUID TO SIMMER FOR THAT AMOUNT OF TIME...NOT WHAT I WAS LOOKING FOR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States