Coney Island Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I added a water while browning the meat. This causes the meat to break up into fine bits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHPAWCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Didn't much care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I have tried the other sauces, and I think this one is just out of bounds,,, and with the addition of Plaths Meats home made Hot Dogs,,, cheese or regular or Jalapeno Dogs,,, there r the best dogs ever
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
My ole man liked it. Hard 2 please when it comes 2 sauce for hotdogs. Drives truck 4 aliving n has had footlongs everywhere. Really suprised. Makes him happy makes me happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This was so good i ate some on a bun with out the hot dog. Made it for a birthday party and everyone LOVED it. Just make sure you let it simmer awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSSTEFANSKI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Struthers, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Reminds me of the Dog's N Suds coney sauce. I'm used to a Texas chili on my dogs, but this stuff is great! It's very different in that it is a sweet-tangy chili. I'll definitely keep this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PCULVER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
This was excellent. I made it exactly as shown and it all disappeared. I may tinker with it a little in the future but I highly recommend it as is too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
We had this tonight with our hot dogs and my husband loved it. He normally does not eat chilli on his hot dogs, but he said it was the best hot dog chilli he has had! I would not go that far, but it was okay. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This was really simple and tasty too! I agree with another reviewer that there wasn't enough liquid in this to simmer it for 35-40 minutes so I just cut that down by about 10 minutes. I love that the ingredients are common ones - I had everything on hand and could whip it up in no time. I also took the suggestion of another reviewer and did throw the browned grd. beef into my food processor for a couple of pulses. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYBOWES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Plain, New York, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Adjust liquids as follows to improve as others mentioned. Onions are never in the sauce. You steam them and put on top!! You can also steam or even grill the bun. My own recipe, like Johnny & Hons in Reading, PA, is same except for amounts the following: 3 Tbsp Plochman's mustard & 3 Tbsp Vinegar 1/2 cup Heinz ketchup 1 Tbsp sugar 2 Tbsp H20 1 1/2 tsp. worchestershire suace 1/2 tsp. tabasco 1/2 tsp. celetery seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Georgia, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

How to Make a Simple Meat Sauce

Make a simple meat sauce with leftover top round or sirloin steak.

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States