Condiment Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Okay...2 disclaimers, right from the start....this recipe intrigued me, but I don't eat pork. My kids and husband love it, but can't handle a ton of spice. I really wanted to join the recipe group with a practical review. I made this twice, both times just dumping everything in a crockpot. The first time, I made it for the family, used pork but cut back on cayenne to 1 tsp. The second time, I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts, and since I made it for myself, I added full TBSP (even heaped it) of cayenne. The kids scarfed it down two nights in a row....that's a five star rating by my standards. Husband and I liked our respective versions on the first night we had it, so agreed then it was 4 stars. BUT the next night, reheated it was even better! I will absolutely make this again, both versions, in the crockl, and wait a day to plate. Given my alterations for my family's taste, and the ease of prep, it's 5 stars, baby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Masonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Staci
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I also made these for recipe group. I did decrease the cayenne to about 1 tsp, and didn't have sage, so I added a tsp of Italian Seasoning which had the sage in it. I baked them covered for 30 min @ 350, then uncovered for another 10 @ 375. They were good. I thought the mustard was a little overpowering, but still good - we all cleaned our plates! I will say that my chops were quite thick, more than an inch, so definitely decrease the time if yours are thinner. I did skip the pan-frying part, as I couldn't see where this sauce would truly "glaze".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brandon, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This was really good, and way better than I expected it to be. Just modify it to suit your tastes, this isn't one that's a science! I had a lot of fresh cilantro that needed to be used that I put in this, and I skipped the hot pepper and pan-frying at the end, opting to cover with foil and take the foil off 15 mins before it was done. These chops were so tender it was hard to get them out of the pan. The taste is 'special' enough to stand out from your everyday pork chops. I was really pleased with this recipe, thank you for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I made these for Recipe Group and I REALLY hate to leave a 3 and be the oddball here but these didn't work for me at all. I made exactly as written except for decreasing the cayenne. When I removed them from the oven they were sitting in a huge pile of water with curds of the mustard/mayo combo floating on top. I drained off as much of the water as I could and then went on to do the skillet step. That didn't work for me either. Time was running out so I just put them back on a baking sheet and drizzled them with butter and some green chilies I was needing to use and stuck them under the broiler until they crisped up some. The flavor was fine and they were extremely tender so maybe it was just my grocery stores poor quality of chops? I am not really sure but I do not see myself attempting this method again. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Made this for Recipe Group. I didn't have any cilantro so didn't add any. Thinking a tablespoon of cayenne is a lot in this I only used a teaspoon. Wow, was the sauce hot! Glad I used only a teaspoon. The sauce did have a good flavor, next time I'm decreasing even the teaspoon. I only cooked these 30 minutes, then did the frying at the end. I really don't see any point in that at all. Recipe doesn't say to cover so I didn't cover in the oven which makes the sauce dry up. There is no way to tell with all the sauce when the juice runs clear and fifty minutes seems way too long unless the chops are a couple inches thick. Mine were probably an inch thick and twenty minutes is normally enough time. Otherwise they are all dried up. Good flavor on the sauce though and the chops were done and moist. Thanks Malina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
This was good, though it turned out alot spicier than I anticipated. I omitted the dried cilantro because I didn't have any. After cooking the chops in the oven there was no sauce left to baste them in on the stove-top so I just crisped them up instead. They were somewhat dry. EDIT: Will be trying this recipe again, but reducing the cayenne way down as well as only cooking in the oven and covered- Seems many reviewers had good results with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I followed the recipe exact. Noone liked this but my youngest and he inhaled it, which is odd because that kid is one of the pickiest kids around. I gave this a shot. I'm sorry but I won't be making this again. It's just not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I have to say that I hated to give these 3 stars. The sauce was so delicious before I put it on the chops. However, when I baked them, they became watery and the sauce ended up just floating around on top. The chops had no flavor what-so-ever. I am going to try these again, but I am going to grill them next time. Will update my review afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
these were good, but it seemed like too many flavours mixed together left a plain taste, they stayed tender and juicy and since texture is important with pork, I may try them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I made these for the Recipe Group recipe. We really enjoyed these. I did make some changes though. I used about a 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne since I'm not a fan of really hot foods. It gave it a nice subtle kick. My pork chops were still partially frozen when I started the recipe so I covered them then baked for 15 minutes, uncovered and baked another 15 minutes, then finished them off on the stove. I would not recommend cooking your chops for 50 minutes. The sauce was very nice and created a nice glaze on the chops. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Golden Pork Chops

See how to make seasoned pork chops baked in a savory mushroom sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States