Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
In all fairness, I only made this once. I cooked it for 12 minutes, stirring frequently. It has the consistancy of water. I didn't get to the point where one is suppose to add the water or the vanilla as I knew it was a bust. I don't think I did anything incorrectly so I won't be trying to make this again. I do hate to give low ratings. If you are not very experienced with this kind of thing, I suggest you keep looking for an easier recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Deer Park, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Very yummy! I added a little cornstarch to the chocolate mixture. I will make again but I will use as a filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Awesome frosting!!! I agree with the reviewer who said to read the directions carefully. I don't see how you can go wrong if you start with the right ingredients. It should begin to get fairly thick as you are cooking, and I didn't even have to cook for the whole 10 minutes. This frosting is one of the best I've tried...not to sweet and very easy to make. I'll definitely make it again! Thanks or the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Excellent fudgy frosting!! Ingredients are perfect! My only complaint is I wish it made just a little bit more. I will be using this recipe often on my cakes and can't wait to try it on brownies!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Very good base recipe to use to make your own substitutions. I used a little over 1/2 a cup of unsweetened cocoa powder instead of the squares, and had great success. It's definitely not a fluffy or traditional frosting, but still a delicious thicker glaze. I'll be using this recipe again, with the minor adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
OMG this is the quickiest and best frosting in the world. I did not add the water which next time I will but it is wonderful!! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This is a rich and fudgy frosting without being overly sweet. It has a silky smooth texture, not grainy and overly sweet like some frostings are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Yummy and easy to make! After reading previous reviews I was concerned about the frosting consistency so I made a bundt cake that I could pour the frosting over, not needed. Followed the directions as written and it turned out great. This is a delicious, gooey frosting that I will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aray

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
this came out more like a sauce. I added a couple cups of powdered sugar to it thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Great recipe! I was using it on a chocolate/cherry cake so instead of the water I used the juice from the cherries - YUMMY! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States