Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I was looking for something that didn't require powdered sugar because I don't have any and didn't want to run to the store. This did the trick! Super easy and very tasty. The consistency isn't quite what you would expect for a frosting, but it's close enough and is perfect for my red velvet poke cake. Don't forget the salt...I tried it without and then added it, and it actually made a world of difference. Yummy...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by MmeLizzard
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Perfectly fudgey and rich, like ganache or chocolate fudge. I've made tis twice and it has come out fantastic both times. Set perfectly, you just need to follow directions and make sure you have the correct ingredients. I did make a few substitutions the second time around. I used fat free sweetened condensed milk and did not have any baking chocolate, so I added 6tbs cocoa powder, 6tbs sugar, and 2tbs butter as a replacement. It still came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by papislilmomi
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
super easy and delicious perfect texture goes on smooth looks great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
I created an Allrecipes account just to comment on this. This frosting is incredible, and I am insanely picky about my frostings. Cook this until it is like a thick pudding, and it turns into the perfect cake-frosting consistency. Tastes like a bar of Hershey's chocolate, it takes all of my willpower to refrain from eating it by itself. Notes: I used twice the vanilla, and strong brewed coffee instead of water and it is divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Great frosting if you don't want it too sweet. It worked out fantastic on the peanut butter pound cake my husband baked for his son's 28th birthday. We did not make any changes at all to the recipe. Next time I think we will make a double portion. We had enough to thinly frost the entire cake, but would have liked a little more to add curls and swirls, just to pretty it up a little. We'll definitely be using this easy and delicious recipe again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
This is my new favorite frosting recipe. It was thick, yummy, easy, and doesn't require a huge amount of powdered sugar and butter. Sweetened condensed milk comes out of the can very thick, and when you cook it, it gets even thicker. As you cook and stir it, the condensed milk starts sticking to the sides of the pan....keep stirring, and you will know when the consistency is right. It took me about 7 minutes, but that is a bit variable depending on cookware, range temp, etc. Adding the water at then end made the mixture smoother without watering it down. What you are doing here is basically making a soft candy. The best part of this recipe is that you can spread it while it is warm (not hot) on to a warm cake, and it doesn't run. For me, this made a very thick icing that I probably could have piped with had I let it cool all the way. **Because sweetened condensed milk is already thick and gooey when you open the can, reviews describing something being watery should be ignored. Most likely those cooks used evaporated milk or tried to substitute regular milk, which is watery in the can. There isn't any possible way to take a can of sweetened condensed milk and cook it until it is watery---there isn't any science behind that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
Rich, fudgy, pudding-like frosting. I wasn't sure if it would turn out since it was still really thin after cooking it for what seemed like forever, but it did eventually thicken--so much that it really needed that extra tablespoon of liquid. It's totally worth it--this frosting is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
I would definitely use this recipe again, but I feel it's more suited to bar cookies/brownies rather than a cake. I put it on a home made butter cake and it was good, but not quite as soft as I would have liked. I do believe it would be excellent on brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This is a really easy, smooth and delicious frosting. The second time I made it my husband wanted peanut butter fudge frosting so I added semi sweet chocolate chips and 1/3 cup of peanut butter to the milk. Turned out really creamy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
it was pretty good. I had some espresso powder I wanted to use up so I added a teaspoon of that. I was looking for a recipe to use up one square of baking chocolate so I changed the servings. Now I have a half can of sweetened condensed milk to use up. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by barb57

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Greene, Rhode Island, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States