Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Great recipe. I would have given it a five had it set better and maybe more instructions. It is more of a fudge frosting like others have mentioned. The recipe states to cook till thick but condensed mik and melted chips are already thick? So I cooked it for 10 minutes and noticed it sticking to the sides of the pan better so I figured it was done. After it completely cooled and I had added the vanilla, what was on the spoon stuck pretty good so I spread it over the cake which had already cooled. The frosting wasn't as thick as what was on the spoon or the sides of the pan since it spread well but kept oozing about 1/2" past the sides of the cake. Dont get me wrong. This is the best fudgy frosting I have tried and it tasted great with my dark chocolate cake. I would like to get it thicker without having to add powdered sugar since that is why I loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
WOW! This was great, and so easy!! I couldn't stop tasting and almost had to make more! I wonder if those who said it wasn't sweet enough used evaporated milk instead of condensed?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by koala red

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
This is one of the best frosting recipes that I found in a long time. Easy to use, and very tastie. The only thing that i did different was I add two sweetned choc or 2oz Thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
Easy and delicious. I used a full 8-oz semi-sweet chocolate bar because once I saw the listed amount melted in the pan, I could see it was not going to be chocolatey enough for me. I wanted fudgey. It tasted great. I loved the texture. The appearance was highly glossy, which I also liked. I'm giving four instead of five stars because I do prefer the taste and texture of chocolate icing made with cocoa, butter, milk and sugar better, but I usually end up burning that one, so it's only for when I'm feeling brave. This will be my standard chocolate icing from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This turned out great! Fudgy is a great way to descride it. I doubled the chocolate and it was still fabulous. What a great compliment to any cake. The consistency was great- didn't have to add any other liquids etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
I used bittersweet chocolate and it turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
This was a bitter glob, even though I followed the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Definately very fudgy! Great for those of us who don't want a too sweet flavor. It would be wonderful on brownies, and it was so easy to make! Mine never actually skinned over or "set" so I wouldn't lay any plastic wrap or foil on the cake or you'll peel off the icing. No matter, mine sat under a cake dome and was consumed rapidly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
this is the most delicious recipe! i had to make another batch to frost my cupcakes with because i ate half of the first one. fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
I had to heat the mixture again because it did not set correctly the first time. Also I had to add about 1 cup of confectioners sugar because the icing was very bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States