Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I've been making this frosting since the '60s as it was in my mother's [Good Housekeeping] cookbook. It is perfect every time, creamy, fudgy. I don't know how you could make a mistake, unless you don't know the difference between evaporated milk and condensed milk. And there are no instructions needed. It's the best frosting/fudge topping anywhere. never hardens always creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
A rich, less sweet, thick icing that is quick and easy, has a nice gloss to it and spreads beautifully. Don't freak if it looks awful the first few minutes you are cooking it. Mine looked like it was separating until about 4 minutes in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Just made this tonight for a fun dessert for my family after dinner! What a fun and easy recipe - sooo mouth watering, the best chocolate frosting I've had home made on a cake. Thank you for sharing this with us :) My 3 kids & husband LOVE their triple chocolate cake! ~ Caylee, WI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Followed recipe. Turned out great. Very easy. Was plenty thick. Did a yellow bundt cake and used this frosting and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I used semi sweet chocolate chips and a sprinkling of unsweetened cocoa powder since I didnt have unsweetened chocolate bars on hand and it turned out awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This was so fudgy and almost silky. I added about 180g of chocolate to 370g condensed milk. It took only 5mins for me. I let it cool a bit before frosting my cake. Sooo goood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Good recipe with a fudgy quality! It's a bit sweet for my taste, so I added 1 ounce of chocolate and didn't use the water, I didn't need it! Sticky and sweet but easily spreadible, I recommend to use it with a not so sweet cake/cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellouni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thessaloniki, Central Macedonia, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
It's very easy to prepare and it turned out rich and delicious. I substituted chocolate squares with 5 tbs. of cocoa powder hoping it would be slightly bitter and so it was. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
This frosting is so good I almost said forget the cupcakes, I wanna eat it off the spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I modified this recipe: I added maybe 1/2c of semi-sweet baking chips and no water. I also added peppermint extract and a bit of instant coffee powder as the chocolate flavor just wasn't coming thru. Mine got thick but still pourable when it cooled. I wonder if that is because of the baking chips...otherwise it might have been runnier. Maybe cooled in the fridge it would be frosting texture. But I liked this as a SUPER easy cake topping. No long beating, clouds of sugar, and worries it might melt like buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOLOEBE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States