Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
Wow! Delicious! My son ate it OFF of the cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
This was great! I don't know why some people were saying that it wasn't thick enough. It was so thick for me, I could hardly get it off of my hands. I never knew it could be so easy to have a super-fudgey frosting, but this is it. I added a little cinnamon to the recipe for a spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greeninoregon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This is amazing frosting!! The perfect amount of chocolate and not overly sweet. I use it as a fudgy filling in some of my cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
OMG This recipe bailed me out of a party once. Great hors d'oeuvre recipe for dipping strawberries!! FTW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
The best and easiest frosting I have ever made. I will never buy a store bought one ever again. Mine didn't come out runny as long as I cook it for at least 10 minutes. I used 100% cacao since the sweetened condensed milk is sweet enough. I used 100% maple syrup instead of Vanilla extract. I think it tasted better. Thanks so much for sharing! My kids think I am the greatest baker in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This tastes great but it's very runny. I kept it on the stove longer to see if it would thicken up but it just wasn't enough. I would use this to cover a bundt cake or something that might need a sweet glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Absolutely delicious! Be forewarned - it is much thinner than the Betty Crocker stuff off the shelf - you'll need a deep cake plate to catch the dripping frosting (don't let any get away!) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lewisac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
While this "frosting" had a nice taste, not being too sweet like other sugar based frostings, I would not classify this as a "frosting" at all. This is more like a sauce (and not even a glaze). My cake tastes good, but it's now soaked. I would consider making some significant adjustments to the quanitities of ingredients used if you're hoping for something thicker (like no water and doubling the chocolate). Chilling overnight before using made little difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I thought this was good. The recipe itself is easy, but was a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickygloz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
This is sooo good! And super easy too! I was limited on ingredients for frosting, but had all of these. I took others suggestions and used semi-sweet baking chocolate - added 3 oz total. When it thickened, I removed it from the heat, stirred it for a couple of minutes, then stirred in the vanilla, stirred it for a couple more minutes, & then poured it over my 9x13 cake. It was fantastic! Thank you for this yummy and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dorr, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States