Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I love this frosting; I've used it numerous times, and everyone in the house loves it. Since not everyone in the house likes chocolate cake, I have to make extra of this frosting for people to eat with other desserts. It is very sauce-like and fudgy, but when used for cupcakes, it works really well. I add sugar to this icing. I also will add chocolate chips (after it cools) on top of cupcakes and cake with this frosting. Thanks for this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
I'm going to have to try this one again....The taste was good, but the consistancey was off for frosting...I am going to try again, maybe I didnt cook long enough or something but the over all taste I really liked...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This chocolate icing is amazing! I always burn chocolate so I cooked it in a double-boiler. I cooked it for 12 minutes after the chocolate was completely melted and added a pinch of ground coffee beans to really bring out the chocolate flavor. The texture is not really thick like a store bought icing but it is not runny like a glaze. I do not know if I would use it for cupcakes, but it works great for cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I really enjoyed this! My husband even liked it and he doesn't like sweets! I followed the directions to a 'T' except i cooked it on med low for a little longer as i tend to burn chocolate! very good and will use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
It was good. I didn't have any powdered sugar, so it was exactly what I was looking for. I cooked it to long and had a few sugar crystals in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
excuse me to those who are disapointed in this recipe "expecting" it to be thick but how can you look at that picture and think that would be good for a cake. how can you think it looks thick. : / ....... it looks like it would be good for fruit tho. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolategirl1998

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Temple, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Thick, delicious, quick and easy. I love this frosting. I used fat free sweetened condensed milk and it was lovely. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Very quick and easy icing for when there is no chocolate frosting on hand. I used Hershey's milk chocolate chips instead of baking squares and the final product tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Skywalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Easy and super good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
The first time I made this, I added a stick of butter because I was afraid it would be too runny like everyone else's. I added an extra ounce or 2 (don't remember) of chocolate. I let it cool completely before spreading it over the cake and it was perfect, just as frosting should be! And OMG it tasted HEAVENLY. I tried to stay more to the original recipe recently by adding less butter, but it wasn't as good and was more runny. To add the butter, I chopped it up into small pieces and melted it little by little into the pot after the chocolate. I'm sure it's very unhealthy but who cares, it taste like the ambrosia of the gods that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States