Condensed Milk Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2015
I made this tonight and I followed the recipe to a "t". I had the sweetened condensed milk and I also added the water. It is not sweet. It had a soft caramel taste and consistency to it. It was so thick I hardly got it out of pan let alone on a cake. It broke the cake up as I tried to spread it. I never refrigerated it. I have been baking for over 50 years, make numerous cakes, cookies, pies for other people. So I do know what I'm doing. I can't figure out why some of you have a runny frosting or even a fudge consistency. I can say mine would never harden like fudge to cut it. Not for me, would not make again. Just thought I would try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2015
I have tried this and it is very good, however it has been different several times ie runny or to thick and just right, I wish someone could provide the tempeture it should be when you cook for 10 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Cote

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Very nice recipe for frosting, this is how I do my fondue for fruit as well. I added a couple squares of toblerone bar just cause I love it but it was excellent as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
I've been making this frosting since the '60s as it was in my mother's [Good Housekeeping] cookbook. It is perfect every time, creamy, fudgy. I don't know how you could make a mistake, unless you don't know the difference between evaporated milk and condensed milk. And there are no instructions needed. It's the best frosting/fudge topping anywhere. never hardens always creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
A rich, less sweet, thick icing that is quick and easy, has a nice gloss to it and spreads beautifully. Don't freak if it looks awful the first few minutes you are cooking it. Mine looked like it was separating until about 4 minutes in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
Just made this tonight for a fun dessert for my family after dinner! What a fun and easy recipe - sooo mouth watering, the best chocolate frosting I've had home made on a cake. Thank you for sharing this with us :) My 3 kids & husband LOVE their triple chocolate cake! ~ Caylee, WI
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Followed recipe. Turned out great. Very easy. Was plenty thick. Did a yellow bundt cake and used this frosting and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I used semi sweet chocolate chips and a sprinkling of unsweetened cocoa powder since I didnt have unsweetened chocolate bars on hand and it turned out awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
This was so fudgy and almost silky. I added about 180g of chocolate to 370g condensed milk. It took only 5mins for me. I let it cool a bit before frosting my cake. Sooo goood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Good recipe with a fudgy quality! It's a bit sweet for my taste, so I added 1 ounce of chocolate and didn't use the water, I didn't need it! Sticky and sweet but easily spreadible, I recommend to use it with a not so sweet cake/cupcake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stellouni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thessaloniki, Central Macedonia, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Macarons

See how to make little meringue sandwiches with a ganache filling.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States