Concord Grape Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Authentic Grape Pie from the Concord grape capital, North East PA! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Jobczynski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Making a grape pie is a labor of love. This pie will take quite some time to make. You can only get Concord grapes in our area once a year so I spend the better part of a day making filling for several pies. I then freeze the filling in freezer containers. This is a great pie to serve at Thanskgiving. My entire family loves this pie, even my super picky husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terrie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Awesome pie. Well worth the effort to make it. We cooked the pulp for five minutes and the seeds came out really well. We even made two extra batches of pie filling for another time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was great. Someone said it almost taste like cherry pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmowerman
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This recipe was good but there is way to much sugar. I reduced this recipe from 1 cup to 1/3 a cup of sugar and it was still a bit too sweet. I would not use any white sugar next time I would just thicken it with some extra flour. I also used whole wheat flour which works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This is an old recipe that my husbands Granny also made, I lost hers but know this is pretty close if not exact. It may seem like a bit of work but so are most things made from scratch. So glad my neighbor grows Concord Grapes, they are so delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Field

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I found this recipe and my friend made it, she used a whole wheat crust and did not have cornstarch but used buckwheat flower to thicken it. It was wonderful! Cant wait to have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I made 2 of these pies today. The first one I used Concord grapes and I must say I had not problems at all with removing the seeds, it was very easy actually and I followed the recipe exactly as well. If you boil the grapes long enough the seeds come right out. I used a potato masher to kind of help the grapes go through the strainer and I just used the kind of strainer that you would rinse noodles or fruit in because I didn't have anything else. Still no seeds went into the mixture so it worked for me. The second pie I used Niagra grapes and I cut the sugar in 1/2 but again no problems what so ever and I have never made a fruit pie like this. It tastes wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonstop
Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Vandalia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Needs a bit more flour for a more consistent pie structure. Taste is amazing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
My child baked this pie, and she won first place in a contest! Plus, she's only 11! If she can bake it that well ALL by herself,anyone can! If your looking for a pie to bake, this is one you should try out. The results are AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Fran’s Angel Food Pie

See the heart-warming story of an enduring Depression-era gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States