Concord Grape Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was great. Someone said it almost taste like cherry pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmowerman
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
This recipe was good but there is way to much sugar. I reduced this recipe from 1 cup to 1/3 a cup of sugar and it was still a bit too sweet. I would not use any white sugar next time I would just thicken it with some extra flour. I also used whole wheat flour which works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This is an old recipe that my husbands Granny also made, I lost hers but know this is pretty close if not exact. It may seem like a bit of work but so are most things made from scratch. So glad my neighbor grows Concord Grapes, they are so delicious! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I found this recipe and my friend made it, she used a whole wheat crust and did not have cornstarch but used buckwheat flower to thicken it. It was wonderful! Cant wait to have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I made 2 of these pies today. The first one I used Concord grapes and I must say I had not problems at all with removing the seeds, it was very easy actually and I followed the recipe exactly as well. If you boil the grapes long enough the seeds come right out. I used a potato masher to kind of help the grapes go through the strainer and I just used the kind of strainer that you would rinse noodles or fruit in because I didn't have anything else. Still no seeds went into the mixture so it worked for me. The second pie I used Niagra grapes and I cut the sugar in 1/2 but again no problems what so ever and I have never made a fruit pie like this. It tastes wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA
Living In: Vandalia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Needs a bit more flour for a more consistent pie structure. Taste is amazing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
My child baked this pie, and she won first place in a contest! Plus, she's only 11! If she can bake it that well ALL by herself,anyone can! If your looking for a pie to bake, this is one you should try out. The results are AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
OH MY GOODNESS! What a taste of childhood! So very good. Worth the effort. My mother made this pie and I have been looking for the directions. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
Better than I expected, has a texture like cherry pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brockville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
We just got our first crop of concord grapes from our vines. This pie was the most interesting I found and the easiest. The grape preparation was a pain, but if you want pain free, buy your filling in a can. As for me, I delight in my pie being totally home made. I did substitute the sugar for Splenda, in the filling and Splenda Brown Sugar Blend for the topping, as I am diabetic. MMMMMMM ! Totally delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States