Concord Grape Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Just a note about peeling the grapes: it isn't difficult! It's very easy and you can even get your children in on the act. Holding the grape, point the eye (where the stem was attached) toward the bowl, and SQUEEZE! The grape pops right out of the skin and into the bowl. (Concord grapes are of the "slip skin" variety, so named because the skins will slip right off.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This pie is awesome and definitely worth the time. One thing I change everytime I make it is the amount of sugar. These grapes are sweet already, so all that sugar is not needed. I made it with 1/2 cup this year and it was the best one yet! I also upped the lemon juice to 1 teaspoon. Another thing, I never know how many grapes to buy to equal 5 cups, I got 2 pints this year and it was the the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
189 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is worth the effort. For later cooking, freeze the filling in 9 inch pie plates covered with tinfoil. Then store in plastic bags in the freezer. Anytime, make the pastry,unwrap a filling, and drop it in the pie shell and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDBARN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This is my first review after years of using this site...I had to write this review! This pie is fantastic! Our neighbor blessed us with his concord grapes and I've been making and freezing the fillings all week. My fingers are stained but my family still wants more! My husband has requested at least 15 fillings frozen for the winter. I've got 5 left to make...in between I'm making several fresh pies at a time. Don't be put off by having to separate the skins from the pulp..it's worth the effort. I don't add the butter, it doesn't need it. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
My mom died 2 years ago. She used to make grape pie and it was my favorite! However, I never found her recipe when I went through her recipe books. I tried this one because it looked like it was similar and it was EXACTLY like my mom's! This is absolutely the greatest pie recipe ever. I've made it (although very time-consuming) for family and friends and this pie always receives unbelievable accolades. Most people have never even tasted something like this before. It's so unique. Don't even attempt to make it without buying yourself a food mill if you don't already have one. The work for this pie is worth the effort and those grapes only come available once a year in the fall. Thanks so much for this recipe. My mom would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
This pie was very good. Everyone in my family LOVED it & wondered when I was making it again. It actually was better cold from the fridge. The only suggestion I waould make is to add a little more thickener......otherwise it was wonderful!!!!!!!! Sue from Buffalo, NY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jewelsie
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Wow! That is one very RICH and SWEET pie. So rich that I cannot eat a whole piece. It's way too sweet for me. I even cut the sugar down to 1 cup, but it's still too much. It also needed more flour, so I added 1/2 cup instead of 1/4. I think this pie would be best with 1/2 cup sugar and without the butter. It's just too rich the way the recipe tells you to make it. It's a very fun idea, though. A grape pie! Who would have thought of such a thing? My hands aren't purple, but my tongue sure is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I served at a dinner party, and it was a SMASH hit!! The pie was devoured with zeal, and it was so yummy. I will be making again. The only change I made was boiling the pulp on the stove with the skins & a little corn starch to thicken it up a bit. Thanks for sharing the recipe, now I know what to do with all of those grapes the mother-in-law brings over from her garden!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trolt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I really liked this recipe: unique and perfect for concord grape lovers! I suspected it would be too sweet for my taste and cut the sugar down to just over 1/2 cup, which turned out to be perfect. I also took people's advice and added 1 tsp cornstarch. It set great. I also added a full tsp of lemon juice. Next time, I might let it bake a few minutes more, as the crusts were a bit underdone in the middle and bottom. Yes, it was putzy compared to other fruit pies. I don't have a food mill, so I just shoved everything through a strainer and picked the seeds out of the remaining pulp by hand. And yes, it was time consuming to peel every grape. BUT ... I will be making this again and again and again. Again: I love concord grapes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Wow! I grew up with grape pie, but almost no one I know has ever heard of it. I was surprised to find a recipe for it here! It is a lot of work. Try putting up a dozen jars of pie filling...it takes a whole day. However, there is a modern solution! This year we found a seedless version of the Concord grape. I believe it's called Coronation? Anyway, it cuts the prep time in half and yields a pie that is just as tasty. In my version I found that 3-1/2 cups of grapes made ample filling. I wouldn't recomend 5 cups unless you have a deep dish. I cut the sugar back to a single cup but prefer a crumb topping to a double-crust. It's a combination of brown sugar, butter and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SparklyChar
Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States