Concord Grape Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
YUM. That 'bout sums it up! :) It was a lot more tart than I expected, the cooking brought a lot of the sour out...I did add extra lemon juice (1 tsp total) and took the sugar down to 1/2 cup as well, but I couldn't imagine that more sugar would have cut the sour. It was plenty sweet with that amount. I also forgot to add the butter to the top of the filling, but it was really tasty. Someone else mentioned strawberry rhubarb pie and I would have to agree. A pleasant sweet-tart. I ate mine tonight with strawberry ice cream and it was superb. Wasn't as much work as I thought from other reviews, slipping them out of their skins was easy. There were a few steps to follow, but I think the trickiest part for me was making a crust! Try this one tonight and you'll be pleased. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I served at a dinner party, and it was a SMASH hit!! The pie was devoured with zeal, and it was so yummy. I will be making again. The only change I made was boiling the pulp on the stove with the skins & a little corn starch to thicken it up a bit. Thanks for sharing the recipe, now I know what to do with all of those grapes the mother-in-law brings over from her garden!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trolt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
this was surprisingly delicious! i wasn't sure how it would be and how the texture would turn out. but it was great. i didn't seal the edges well becuase i was in a hurry, but next time i will be more careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
My husband said this was the best pie he'd ever tasted! I made smaller individual tarts using Keebler Ready mini graham cracker crusts and they were fabulous. I decreased the baking time to 20 minutes for 6 tarts. I will be making a second batch tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
the recipe is unique and surprisingly tart. i use the wild concord grapes from my backyard so that might be why. the filling came out runny though, in a thick sauce kind of way. this was after adding a handful of extra flour and a spoonful of cornstarch. also, with the 5 cups of grapes, the filling settled leaving a gap between the filling and the top crust. next time i think it might be best to double the amount of grapes and add more flour/cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
My mom died 2 years ago. She used to make grape pie and it was my favorite! However, I never found her recipe when I went through her recipe books. I tried this one because it looked like it was similar and it was EXACTLY like my mom's! This is absolutely the greatest pie recipe ever. I've made it (although very time-consuming) for family and friends and this pie always receives unbelievable accolades. Most people have never even tasted something like this before. It's so unique. Don't even attempt to make it without buying yourself a food mill if you don't already have one. The work for this pie is worth the effort and those grapes only come available once a year in the fall. Thanks so much for this recipe. My mom would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
A little on the sweet side, and the filling was runny. But delicious. We used regular black grapes instead of Concord, so they were difficult to peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gustava

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Townsend, Delaware, USA
Living In: Odessa, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is worth the effort. For later cooking, freeze the filling in 9 inch pie plates covered with tinfoil. Then store in plastic bags in the freezer. Anytime, make the pastry,unwrap a filling, and drop it in the pie shell and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDBARN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jewelsie
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Wow! That is one very RICH and SWEET pie. So rich that I cannot eat a whole piece. It's way too sweet for me. I even cut the sugar down to 1 cup, but it's still too much. It also needed more flour, so I added 1/2 cup instead of 1/4. I think this pie would be best with 1/2 cup sugar and without the butter. It's just too rich the way the recipe tells you to make it. It's a very fun idea, though. A grape pie! Who would have thought of such a thing? My hands aren't purple, but my tongue sure is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This pie is awesome and definitely worth the time. One thing I change everytime I make it is the amount of sugar. These grapes are sweet already, so all that sugar is not needed. I made it with 1/2 cup this year and it was the best one yet! I also upped the lemon juice to 1 teaspoon. Another thing, I never know how many grapes to buy to equal 5 cups, I got 2 pints this year and it was the the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States