Concord Grape Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
My husband said this was the best pie he'd ever tasted! I made smaller individual tarts using Keebler Ready mini graham cracker crusts and they were fabulous. I decreased the baking time to 20 minutes for 6 tarts. I will be making a second batch tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
the recipe is unique and surprisingly tart. i use the wild concord grapes from my backyard so that might be why. the filling came out runny though, in a thick sauce kind of way. this was after adding a handful of extra flour and a spoonful of cornstarch. also, with the 5 cups of grapes, the filling settled leaving a gap between the filling and the top crust. next time i think it might be best to double the amount of grapes and add more flour/cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: North Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
My mom died 2 years ago. She used to make grape pie and it was my favorite! However, I never found her recipe when I went through her recipe books. I tried this one because it looked like it was similar and it was EXACTLY like my mom's! This is absolutely the greatest pie recipe ever. I've made it (although very time-consuming) for family and friends and this pie always receives unbelievable accolades. Most people have never even tasted something like this before. It's so unique. Don't even attempt to make it without buying yourself a food mill if you don't already have one. The work for this pie is worth the effort and those grapes only come available once a year in the fall. Thanks so much for this recipe. My mom would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yukon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
A little on the sweet side, and the filling was runny. But delicious. We used regular black grapes instead of Concord, so they were difficult to peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gustava

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Townsend, Delaware, USA
Living In: Odessa, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
This is worth the effort. For later cooking, freeze the filling in 9 inch pie plates covered with tinfoil. Then store in plastic bags in the freezer. Anytime, make the pastry,unwrap a filling, and drop it in the pie shell and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REDBARN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jewelsie
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
Wow! That is one very RICH and SWEET pie. So rich that I cannot eat a whole piece. It's way too sweet for me. I even cut the sugar down to 1 cup, but it's still too much. It also needed more flour, so I added 1/2 cup instead of 1/4. I think this pie would be best with 1/2 cup sugar and without the butter. It's just too rich the way the recipe tells you to make it. It's a very fun idea, though. A grape pie! Who would have thought of such a thing? My hands aren't purple, but my tongue sure is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jamestown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
This pie is awesome and definitely worth the time. One thing I change everytime I make it is the amount of sugar. These grapes are sweet already, so all that sugar is not needed. I made it with 1/2 cup this year and it was the best one yet! I also upped the lemon juice to 1 teaspoon. Another thing, I never know how many grapes to buy to equal 5 cups, I got 2 pints this year and it was the the perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This is my first review after years of using this site...I had to write this review! This pie is fantastic! Our neighbor blessed us with his concord grapes and I've been making and freezing the fillings all week. My fingers are stained but my family still wants more! My husband has requested at least 15 fillings frozen for the winter. I've got 5 left to make...in between I'm making several fresh pies at a time. Don't be put off by having to separate the skins from the pulp..it's worth the effort. I don't add the butter, it doesn't need it. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
The local farmers market provided an opportunity to buy some Concord grapes. I made this pie with the grapes I bought. WOW! It was a real hit with family and our dinner guests. It even had otherwise well mannered adults at the the table licking their plates to get the last bit of this pie. The only room for improvement I found was that the filling could have been a little thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This pie is awesome! It's definately a lot of work to make, but it tastes great. My picky boyfriend almost ate the whole thing himself he loved it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States