Concord Grape Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Wow! I grew up with grape pie, but almost no one I know has ever heard of it. I was surprised to find a recipe for it here! It is a lot of work. Try putting up a dozen jars of pie filling...it takes a whole day. However, there is a modern solution! This year we found a seedless version of the Concord grape. I believe it's called Coronation? Anyway, it cuts the prep time in half and yields a pie that is just as tasty. In my version I found that 3-1/2 cups of grapes made ample filling. I wouldn't recomend 5 cups unless you have a deep dish. I cut the sugar back to a single cup but prefer a crumb topping to a double-crust. It's a combination of brown sugar, butter and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SparklyChar
Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
I'm not sure why this got rave reviews. It is a good tasting pie, but a lot of work. I used grapes from my arbor and an extra 1/8 cup corn starch with a bought crust. I will use my grapes for jam.My pulp was 3 cups & with peels 5 cups so I used a 9" deep dish. Also put sugar on top of crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Pretty good, but a bit too solid and wow did the grape-peeling take a long time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This was absolutely delicious and so easy to make. And this was my first grape pie. I did cut back the sugar to 1 cup and it tastes just wonderful. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Great pie!! We had a huge batch of concords this year and we made 12 batches of this for the freezer over a few days. Just pulled them out of the freezer and took this to our Thanksgiving dinner and everyone loved it. It was great out of the freezer too, just thawed it and poured it into the crust and it turned out great. I did increase the flour to 1/2 cup and reduced the sugar to 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I really liked this recipe: unique and perfect for concord grape lovers! I suspected it would be too sweet for my taste and cut the sugar down to just over 1/2 cup, which turned out to be perfect. I also took people's advice and added 1 tsp cornstarch. It set great. I also added a full tsp of lemon juice. Next time, I might let it bake a few minutes more, as the crusts were a bit underdone in the middle and bottom. Yes, it was putzy compared to other fruit pies. I don't have a food mill, so I just shoved everything through a strainer and picked the seeds out of the remaining pulp by hand. And yes, it was time consuming to peel every grape. BUT ... I will be making this again and again and again. Again: I love concord grapes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Much too tart for me !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilianne Turcotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hawkesbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Wonderful and delicious. I did reduce the amount of sugar as we love a tart pie. I found it very relaxing removing the skins from the pulp. Was a very easy pie to make but is time consuming so make sure you have plenty of time on your hands. The work is well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
This turned out to be a tremendous amount of work for what amounted to jelly/juice pie. Despite adding copious amounts of corn starch AND pectin it still was almost pure liquid. I had no idea how everyone else managed to de-seed their grapes. I had to sit there and squeeze each seed out of each grape. It was awful. I won't bother to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSHY1127

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Great pie. its time consuming but not hard. i thought this was way too sweet but that can be fixed. ty for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darthotto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States