Concord Grape Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
Best out of ordinary pie around. Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumz2Busy (Rose)
Living In: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Best pie recipe EVER! After tasting a concord grape pie a couple of years ago, we planted some vines at home. This is our first year having grapes of our own. I have made this recipe twice this year... Wow, what a flavor packed filling this is. I do adjust the sugar depending on the sweetness of the grapes and our personal preference. And it is fun to watch people's faces when they try it for the first time. Most have never had grape pie, and have had so much artificial grape stuff, they are amazed at the flavor of natural grapes! Big plus: I have also cooked the filling added the skins and cooked it a bit more (until the skins soften) and served it over ice cream!!!! Off the charts good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Rykhus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I made this as a joke for my friends in my sophomore year in high school. It was a hit! It took such a long time to make and was eaten in minutes, but it was so worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Robbins, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I change this to a single crust with a simple crumb topping, even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I feel like I just wasted several hours of my life... I tried to figure out what went wrong. Other recipes I found online TELL YOU to drain off any liquid that accumulates while you are peeling the grapes. So perhaps it's better if you don't put the peeled grapes in a bowl or the pot you intend to cook them in, but instead put them in a colander and let them drain as you go. That may be why this was such a runny mess - too much liquid. Other recipes also said to boil the pulp for 5-6 minutes, not just "bring to a boil", which implies shutting the heat off as soon as it comes to a boil, so there would be no further reduction. Glad I tested this out before sharing it with anyone - tasted OK for watery grape syrup, but the presentation of a plateful of syrup with an otherwise empty pie crust would leave me mortified if I cut into the one I made in front of guests. I'll may try making a grape pie again, but not with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Found an easy way to separate seeds without a food mill. I used a heavy meat mallet and a small-holed strainer. The meat mallet is nice and heavy so that as you mash and grind the pulp in the strainer, the seeds separate beautifully and stay in the strainer. Took me about 1 minute to separate pulp from seeds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Loved this pie... will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VanessaKay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
This pie is awesome and exceptional according to myself and fellow skeptical taste testers with the following changes I made to it. I only used 1/2 cup of sugar and 1 tbsp of butter other than that I followed the recipe as written. I think next time I will add just a bit of cornstarch to it as it was a tad runny, but some of it was my impatience to try it warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, delicious! It's pretty odd how much this pie reminded all of us of a rhubarb blended pie perfect amount of sweet and tart. I think if a person added the amount of sugar called for it would ruin the pie and my rating would not have been favorable from all of us. It was fun to surprise my taste testers with it and see the looks on their faces when I said here try some grape pie. Try it, you'll like it if you are a fan of a rhubarb pie. I grow my own Concord grapes so I'll be putting up more filling for pies during the holidays as well as a few for others who now have asked me when I'm making it again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
I only added a pinch of cornstarch to the ingredients and 1/2 cup sugar, didn't change anything else. Now the grape pealing, I started pinching them like one reviewer suggested, I couldn't seem to get the hang of it. Next I decided to just leave the skins on. I cut the grapes lengthwise then mashed a few per the directions. I used seedless super dark purple grapes, (don't know the proper name) It turned out FANTASTIC!!! Saved tons of time and tasted heavenly, filing this under quick easy pies everyone loves, will be making during the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
FANTASTIC. I cut sugar to one cup. Very rich pie. People raved and said it tasted like rhubarb cherry. Used seedless red grapes as that is what we have in NM. I buy boxed crust and roll them a little thinner and makes killer crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States