Concord Grape Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2002
The amounts on this recipe are way, way off. Three and a half pounds of concord grapes don't even come close to providing 4 quarts of juice. It provides about 1/3 to a 1/2 of that amount. Once you've got your juice, you get to guess the amount of sugar and pectin to put in, leaving you with a runny mess. Unless you know what you're doing, don't bother with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2002
We have updated this recipe due to a typo in step 2. The amount of juice should be 4 cups, not 4 quarts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
This is a very good recipe, although i personally would cut back on the sugar by a half cup to a cup, it seems extreamly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
The jelly turned out great. I used the grapes out of my garden (not sure if they are concord). I didn't get exactly 4 cups of juice from my 3 1/2lbs of grapes, I probably only got about 3 3/4cups of juice and I only used 6 cups of sugar. I had some of the jelly this morning on toast with peanut butter and it was great. I will be making more tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shaunna
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Awesome and easy recipe...Directions are great...I got exactly 4 cups of juice from the 3 1/2 lbs of grapes and 8 half pints from each recipe. The only thing I did different is instead of letting the juice sit overnight, I cooled it at room temperature for a couple of hours, and then put it in the fridge for a couple of hours so I cuold finish my jelly the same day that I started it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shaunna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
I've never hot water bathed jam or jelly and should have listened to my gut. The 1/2 jar you always have left over jelled perfectly but all the full jars that I water bathed are grape syrup. Great on pancakes and ice cream so no real loss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I made four batches with white concord grapes from my garden, they all turned out perfectly with just a little extra juice left. The jelly is great on toast or on crackers with cheese for a quick simple hors-d'oeuvre.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Lovely jelly, with a beautiful, deep purple colour and silky texture. Sweet, but you still have a good grape flavour coming through. Crushing, juicing & straining the grapes may seem like a pain, but the end product is worth it. Don't try to make a double batch because 1. when the mixture boils hard for 1 minute, it really foams up high. It would have boiled over my big jam pot if I increased the recipe, and 2. large batches (i.e. more than 4 c. grape juice) of grape jelly don't seem to set up well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This is how i make grape jelly all the time, but i do not add water and i use wild grapes... the flavour of the grape is better if no water is added. You do have to use more grapes to get the cups needed to make the jelly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Good Recipe! I didn't have enough grapes to end up with 4 cups of juice so I cheated and added store bought grape juice (100% juice) to increase it to the right amount. It turned out perfectly jelled but I do think it's a little sweeter than I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Concord Grape Jelly

See how to make the perfect jelly for PBJs.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Slow Cooker Venison Roast

A simple, delicious way to enjoy tender venison with lots of flavorful gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States