Conchas (Mexican Sweet Bread) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Incredible!!!! This is an excellent recipe. An instant hit and addition to my recipe box. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
This is a great recipe. The one thing is that I found it doesn't take quite 20 minutes but more like 15 (I do live in a high altitude city, that probably has something to do with it). But they turned out so well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This recipe came out too heavy -- even doubling the rising time the dough was unable to rise to 125%, much less 200%, and the conchas came out heavy and gluey. I spent a total of 15 minutes actually working on it. It's a bummer, because I love conchas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
I was introduced to Mexican sweet bread when I worked on a tree crew, and we used to go to the local bakery to get some every morning for breakfast. I've kind of missed that little tradition, and finding a close approximation really made my day, since there are no panderias where I live now. My parents liked the recipe, too. Thanks, Melissa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
This was really good. Only change I made was in the topping, instead of using vanilla extract in half, I used almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Great little sweet bread, just like the ones in the mexican pan shops. I made 12 that were smaller then i expected so next time i will double the recipe and make 12 big conchas like the ones i remember. Eat them fast or the topping losses its crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Yum! These were a big hit with my family and friends, thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This is a nice recipe, and fairly easy to make. My only difficulty was with the cinamon-topping; it ended up too crumbly and wouldn't stay together. It was probably my own fault, but if you have that problem too, I recommend adding a teaspoon of water to that part. And by the way, I didn't notice on my own, but my dad pointed out that this is basically a fairly normal bread with sugar cookies on top. He thought I should've just made plain sugar cookies, but I personally prefer this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I loved these conchas. They are much denser than the conchas you get in most panaderias but I actually prefer them this way. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I made this 11 years ago for my 1st year of Spanish project. The flavor is so distinct and wonderful that I decided to make it for an office El Cinco de Mayo party today. Everyone loved it! It takes some practice to create "the shell" look, but it is well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States